Download software Tutorial videos
Subscription & data-feed pricing Class schedule

New account application Trading resources
Margin rates Stock & option commissions

Attention: Discussion forums are read-only for extended maintenance until further notice.
Welcome Guest, please sign in to participate in a discussion. Search | Active Topics |

Signs (Both Subtle and Obvious) Pointing to Impending Disaster in otherwise OK-Looking Stocks (e.g. Topic Rating:
Previous Topic · Next Topic Watch this topic · Print this topic ·
sharkattak
Posted : Wednesday, January 31, 2007 8:47:36 PM
Platinum Customer Platinum Customer

I'm a newbie and would appreciate some feedback re how to possibly avoid buying a stock just before it crashes. E.g YMI had rapidly rising TSV, OBV & MS, BOP & vol building on up move. 1/31 it gapped down hugely, losing 53% for the day. I had had my eye on it, but, luckily, didn't buy...whew! What were the signs leading up to the crash that might have suggested impending disaster and to avoid or even short this stock? I'm sure seasoned traders see many more signs than I see which are as follows: 1) 1/22 huge bearish engulfing candle; 2)dramatic fall in MS after looking like it was strengthening; 3) mid Oct and end of Nov big red vol days; 4) a preponderance of red vol days over green even as price was advancing; 5)weakish stochastics and MACD as price increased. Any glaring or subtle signs more others can see that I'm missing? Similar situation with STSI which was starting to look strong, even gapping up on 1/17 before swooning 32% on 1/19. (Didn't trade this one either...another whew!) Thanks for any feedback folks might have.
memorableproducts
Posted : Wednesday, January 31, 2007 10:47:39 PM

QUOTE (sharkattak)
YMI -- What were the signs leading up to the crash that might have suggested impending disaster and to avoid or even short this stock?

Uh, how about the fact that it is a penny stock?

That alone is enough to say 'Buyer Beware'.