New version 17 available now


Download software Tutorial videos
Subscription & data-feed pricing Class schedule


New account application Trading resources
Margin rates Stock & option commissions

Welcome Guest, please sign in to participate in a discussion. Search | Active Topics |

Inserting A Chart into A Worden post Rate this Topic:
Previous Topic · Next Topic Watch this topic · Print this topic ·
davidjohnhall
Posted : Wednesday, December 26, 2007 9:15:49 PM

Gold Customer Gold Customer

Joined: 6/6/2005
Posts: 1,157
This post is for jjhart52 who asked how to post a chart into a Worden post or for anyone else who would like to know.

First, pull up a chart in telechart:



Once you have telechart open, you could capture it using screencapture software.  I use hypersnap:



They have a 2 week free trial...

If you don't want to do that, you can use the print screen tool by pushing ctrl+alt+print screen at the same time.  These keys are located here:


Once you have done that, open up the windows "Paint" program.  And hit "Edit" then "Paste"




Once you hit "Paste" your entire screen will be inserted into the window.




You will need to move this around until you isolate the chart.  Once you've done that click save and save it to your desk top (that's what i do) or wherever is easy to find.

Next, you will want to go to photobucket.com.  If you haven't opened a free account yet, do so.  Once you have one and log on you will see a box that looks like this on your welcome page:




Click browse and locate your file.  Once you have it, click upload.



Once you've uploaded it a thumbnail of the image will appear in your album.   You will want to click anywhere in the "direct link" box and the link will automatically copy.


From here, go to your Worden post and click the insert image icon.



You will then left click and paste the link into image properties editor next to "url" and click ok.



Your image will then appear in your post.




And don't worry, it gets a lot easier the more that you do it. 

Good luck.

Let me know if you have any questions.

David John Hall



scottnlena
Posted : Wednesday, December 26, 2007 10:28:56 PM

Registered User
Joined: 4/18/2005
Posts: 4,090
WOW

I know how to do this.. but thanks.  This was very clear and could probably be moved to the Ask A Trainer section or the "TC Training" pages.  

You are a Gem of a person David John Hall.

davidjohnhall
Posted : Wednesday, December 26, 2007 11:25:20 PM

Gold Customer Gold Customer

Joined: 6/6/2005
Posts: 1,157
Thanks Scott, you're too kind! 
jfcampbell3
Posted : Thursday, December 27, 2007 2:02:27 PM
Registered User
Joined: 11/30/2007
Posts: 17
Thanks to davidjohnhall for his insightful means of putting a chart in a posting. I do it a bit differently, so I thought I'd share a couple of other means - for Windows users. if you have a chart up in a window, you can copy it to the clipboard with the alt-print screen. Find the ptrsc key (may be labeled slightly differently on different keyboards) hold down alt then prtsc. Then you can copy it to paint as David said, or you can put it into word, bring up the drawing toolbar (view-toolbars) and hunt around for the crop tool. Once you've done that, and have the part of the chart you want, then put it into paint, save it as a bmp image type. Then David's instructions for clicking the "insert / edit image" button and thereafter work fine. It's the same process, but a different way of approaching it.

jfc
Bruce_L
Posted : Thursday, December 27, 2007 2:05:18 PM


Worden Trainer

Joined: 10/7/2004
Posts: 58,914
davidjohnhall,
Excellent post! I hope you don't mind if I use it as a reference when asked about this in the future.

-Bruce
Personal Criteria Formulas
TC2000 Support Articles
davidjohnhall
Posted : Thursday, December 27, 2007 4:41:02 PM

Gold Customer Gold Customer

Joined: 6/6/2005
Posts: 1,157
Hi Bruce,

By all means -- go right ahead.  It's the least I could contribute after you guys have given me so much.

Happy Holidays.

David John Hall
signaltap
Posted : Thursday, December 27, 2007 5:25:27 PM
Registered User
Joined: 3/16/2006
Posts: 2,214
you don't need the software. all you need is:

to capture the sreen, press ALT and PRINT SCREEN together, then open 

the paint program by microsoft ( you already have it )

then  click on EDIT and then PASTE

the image will come, 

make the necesary changes, like typing, drawing or spray painting,

then save as a GIF file in your pictures folder, then go to Photobucket and save your picture there, then once the image comes out with Photobuket files, left click, leave it press, and drag across the whole DIRECT LINK url, then press CTRL and V together, 

then go to Worden post and press CTRL  and V together and that URL will come up then  press OK and the image will be there, type whatever coments on the post and send!


voila!!! no software needed, just paint and photobuket!
davidjohnhall
Posted : Thursday, December 27, 2007 5:34:44 PM

Gold Customer Gold Customer

Joined: 6/6/2005
Posts: 1,157
lol Signal -- that's exactly what I said...
jjhart52
Posted : Thursday, December 27, 2007 6:36:20 PM

Gold Customer Gold Customer

Joined: 12/19/2004
Posts: 108

David,

Thanks anyway for posting this. You've done an excellent job explaining everything.  I'll will tinker with it till I get the hang of it.

Thank you once again for this post.

davidjohnhall
Posted : Thursday, December 27, 2007 6:50:15 PM

Gold Customer Gold Customer

Joined: 6/6/2005
Posts: 1,157
You're welcome, jjhart52, looking forward to seeing your charts!

David John Hall
jschott
Posted : Wednesday, April 30, 2008 4:03:57 PM
Platinum Customer Platinum Customer

Joined: 10/27/2004
Posts: 818
Location: Philly area
There is a free version (as well as a more delux paid) version of a product called ScreenHunter which I have found reliable that might be suitable.  And, of course, free is my favorite word!
Apsll
Posted : Wednesday, April 30, 2008 4:56:27 PM

Registered User
Joined: 3/21/2006
Posts: 4,308
Fast-Stone Image Viewer is another Free image editor and easy to use.
bcraig73450
Posted : Wednesday, October 08, 2008 6:01:51 PM
Registered User
Joined: 9/22/2005
Posts: 849
Bruce

I can follow David's procedure successfully until the last step.

I process a picture using Photobucket, click on the Direct Link,box, and paste in the message box.

Instead of putting the message into the message, it puts the link and in order to view the picture you must click on the link.

http://i264.photobucket.com/albums/ii173/bcraig73450/KRYBoth.gif
Bruce_L
Posted : Wednesday, October 08, 2008 6:09:08 PM


Worden Trainer

Joined: 10/7/2004
Posts: 58,914
bcraig73450,
I suspect you are missing the following steps from davidjohnhall's post:

- From here, go to your Worden post and click the insert image icon.
- You will then left click and paste the link into image properties editor next to "url" and click ok.

Image Icon Picture

The link doesn't go into the message directly, it goes into the image popup that appears when you select the insert image icon (circled above).

-Bruce
Personal Criteria Formulas
TC2000 Support Articles
bcraig73450
Posted : Wednesday, October 08, 2008 6:09:41 PM
Registered User
Joined: 9/22/2005
Posts: 849
The phrase 

Insteadof putting the message into the message.

should read

Instead of putting the picture into the message.
bcraig73450
Posted : Wednesday, October 08, 2008 7:18:53 PM
Registered User
Joined: 9/22/2005
Posts: 849

There are three icons for pasting, one labeled Paste, one labeled Paste as plain text, and one labeled Paste from Word.

When I click on the lcon on the left labeled, Paste I get a message which says Paste - Webpage Dialog.I press Ctrl+V and then OK.  This is what I get.


http://i264.photobucket.com/albums/ii173/bcraig73450/KRYBoth.gif

In order to view the picture, I must click on the link.

davidjohnhall
Posted : Wednesday, October 08, 2008 8:02:34 PM

Gold Customer Gold Customer

Joined: 6/6/2005
Posts: 1,157

Hi bcraig,

You are using the text paste options, you need to use the image paste option.

Click on the picture icon shown by the circle in the image in Bruce's post.  From there you need to paste the image URL into the space that's given, which is here, in the pop up window that appears after the image paste icon is hit...

 

Hope this helps.

David John Hall

bcraig73450
Posted : Wednesday, October 08, 2008 8:11:03 PM
Registered User
Joined: 9/22/2005
Posts: 849
Thanks Davis and Bruce

You have the patence of Job but you finally got through to me.

Here's what I've been using for a test

davidjohnhall
Posted : Wednesday, October 08, 2008 9:19:37 PM

Gold Customer Gold Customer

Joined: 6/6/2005
Posts: 1,157
Nice!  Looks like you're up and running.  Looking forward to seeing more charts.

David John Hall
Users browsing this topic
Guest-1

Forum Jump
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.