Download software Tutorial videos
Subscription & data-feed pricing Class schedule


New account application Trading resources
Margin rates Stock & option commissions

Attention: Discussion forums are read-only for extended maintenance until further notice.
Welcome Guest, please sign in to participate in a discussion. Search | Active Topics |

Exporting data to text format - comma, space or tab delimited Topic Rating:
Previous Topic · Next Topic Watch this topic · Print this topic ·
Doug_H
Posted : Wednesday, October 20, 2004 12:22:54 PM


Worden Trainer

Joined: 10/1/2004
Posts: 4,308
Author: Doug Holden

Press the Play button on the bottom of the video to start.









keywords: export data text comma space tab ASCII delimited Excel spreadsheet

- Doug
Teaching Online!

To view this video you must have Macromedia Flash Player and Microsoft Internet Explorer 5+
marv73
Posted : Thursday, February 10, 2005 5:17:39 PM
Gold Customer Gold Customer

Joined: 10/7/2004
Posts: 10
Doug
When I go into Excel and click OPEN it doesn't open to TEXT as in your example but in My Documents. When I browse and bring up TEXT it doesn't show any sub-folders. After I type the exported file name in, it will bring up the two screens for the selection of the delimmiter and then it appears on the excel sheet.
Seems strange but I checked and the exported file is in the Text folder but just doesn't show up when following the above procedure. Any ideas on what's happening would be appreciated. Thanks
(Removed by Moderator)
Craig_S
Posted : Thursday, February 10, 2005 5:56:00 PM


Worden Trainer

Joined: 10/1/2004
Posts: 18,819
Change the format below the file name on the open screen to TEXT.

- Craig
Here to Help!
ajclarke88
Posted : Wednesday, February 16, 2005 3:51:11 PM
Registered User
Joined: 1/5/2005
Posts: 24
Doug: I was happy to see the video on how to export the data to excel; however, after I did exactly as indicated, I could NOT download the 'export'. On the area for 'export', the following path is already listed and I am unable to modify it.
This is the path: C drive
Program files
TC2000
Export

There is nothing listed at the 'export' folder.

Marv had a similar experience.

Thanks for handling this matter.

Tony
Doug_H
Posted : Wednesday, February 16, 2005 3:57:07 PM


Worden Trainer

Joined: 10/1/2004
Posts: 4,308
Tony:

I just tested the export on my TeleChart, and it works fine. I was able to specify the path by clicking on the C: drive and selecting a destination folder. Once the export was complete, I opened the file in Excel and all the data was there.

It appears as though you are having a technical problem. If you can't specify the path, you'll need to contact the technical support staff and have them help you figure out what is causing the problem. They can be reached via email at support@worden.com or by telephone at (919) 408-0542.

- Doug
Teaching Online!
ajclarke88
Posted : Thursday, February 17, 2005 1:44:25 PM
Registered User
Joined: 1/5/2005
Posts: 24
Doug: thanks for checking this out. I did have to go to to Support as I was missing something in the process and they found the missing link! The export now works great!
Doug_H
Posted : Thursday, February 17, 2005 1:51:35 PM


Worden Trainer

Joined: 10/1/2004
Posts: 4,308
Great! I'm glad they were able to help you out!

- Doug
Teaching Online!
bmaltz
Posted : Saturday, March 05, 2005 4:10:36 PM
Registered User
Joined: 12/30/2004
Posts: 14
Do you have to manually export to text every day, or will it occur automatically upon updating the TC2005 data, similar to how the smart export works for TCV3?

Thanks,
Ben
Craig_S
Posted : Saturday, March 05, 2005 4:16:28 PM


Worden Trainer

Joined: 10/1/2004
Posts: 18,819
You must do it manually.

- Craig
Here to Help!
Snake69
Posted : Wednesday, April 12, 2006 4:06:45 PM
Registered User
Joined: 4/4/2005
Posts: 31
Is there a way to export other data fields or just the 6 or 7 that are listed? For instance, how do you export the "price as % of 52-week high" data field?

Thanks.
Doug_H
Posted : Wednesday, April 12, 2006 4:10:40 PM


Worden Trainer

Joined: 10/1/2004
Posts: 4,308
You can only export the fields listed in the export window.

- Doug
Teaching Online!
loknath
Posted : Sunday, July 23, 2006 12:22:45 AM
Registered User
Joined: 7/22/2006
Posts: 1
Hi,
I had installed Telechart2007. Is it possible to marry stocks & commodities traded in Indian Markets? Kindly setail process to be followed.
Thanks & regards
Major V loganathan
Bruce_L
Posted : Monday, January 15, 2007 1:18:51 PM


Worden Trainer

Joined: 10/7/2004
Posts: 65,138
loknath,
TeleChart carries the Common Stocks on the NYSE, Nasdaq and AMEX as well as a variety of indexes. It does not currently carry futures, currencies, options, commodities, BB Stocks, OTC Stocks or non-US Stocks.

BackScanner runs in SnapSheets and works with any of the following paid historical data feeds:

* TeleChart 2007 Gold (available now)
* Hemscott Company Fundamental & Technical History (available now)
* Earnings Projections & Ratings (coming soon)
* U.S. Stock Market Highly-Indexed Minute History (coming soon)
* Real-time Forex.com currency spreads (coming soon)
* Mutual Funds (coming soon)

-Bruce
Personal Criteria Formulas
TC2000 Support Articles
mjwilt
Posted : Friday, March 30, 2007 7:05:46 AM
Registered User
Joined: 2/8/2007
Posts: 39
I would like to export data into a spreadsheet for the following analysis:

1) view the closing price for each Industry each Friday for 52 weeks

2) Rank each industry by percent change in price (done in Excel)

I have tried exporting 10 days of data and the spreadsheet was huge. I don't see where you can select a date. What appears most feasible at this point is to create a watchlist with more limited industries (top 10) but that would still be a large file if I can't select specific dates.

Any thoughts
Bruce_L
Posted : Friday, March 30, 2007 9:31:48 AM


Worden Trainer

Joined: 10/7/2004
Posts: 65,138
mjwilt,
As you have already seen, it is possible to adjust the number of days to export. However, the export will always end with the most recent data. There is no way currently to select both the start and end dates for the export.

-Bruce
Personal Criteria Formulas
TC2000 Support Articles
terrymccall
Posted : Monday, December 31, 2007 12:49:30 PM
Registered User
Joined: 1/21/2005
Posts: 11

Hi Guys,

Thanks for the great tool and training help.  Can you help me to export data on the major indices like the S&P 500?  When I try it (as shown in the video) I get all the component stocks not just the index.  I also thought about using an ETF, or mutual fund as a substitute, but none seem to work.  Any suggestions?

Happy New Year,

Terry

Bruce_L
Posted : Monday, December 31, 2007 12:55:36 PM


Worden Trainer

Joined: 10/7/2004
Posts: 65,138
terrymccall,
It reads like you are exporting the Standard and Poors 500 Component Stocks Watchlist. To export just the Standard & Poors 500 Composite Average, you would need to export a Watchlist containing just the SP-500 symbol. You would need to create a Personal Watchlist to do this (although the All Indexes Watchlist has the symbols for the Indexes in TeleChart). You may wish to review the following:

How to create your own Personal WatchList
Managing Personal WatchLists
Explanation of the different types of WatchList available in TeleChart

-Bruce
Personal Criteria Formulas
TC2000 Support Articles
17263
Posted : Thursday, March 06, 2008 8:06:08 PM
Gold Customer Gold Customer

Joined: 1/7/2005
Posts: 61
Doug, thanks for your help!  Good video.

John
17263
Users browsing this topic
Guest-1

Forum Jump
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.