Download software Tutorial videos
Subscription & data-feed pricing Class schedule


New account application Trading resources
Margin rates Stock & option commissions

Attention: Discussion forums are read-only for extended maintenance until further notice.
Welcome Guest, please sign in to participate in a discussion. Search | Active Topics |

How to create your own Personal WatchList Topic Rating:
Previous Topic · Next Topic Watch this topic · Print this topic ·
Doug_H
Posted : Friday, October 01, 2004 1:03:10 PM


Worden Trainer

Joined: 10/1/2004
Posts: 4,308







If you prefer, you can download the video and watch it offline. Choose the Save option and save it to your hard drive. Extract the files to a location on your hard drive and double click on the .html file to launch the video. You must extract the files to your hard drive. You cannot play the video from the .zip file.

keywords: personal watchlist types creating new create

- Doug
Teaching Online!

To view this video you must have Macromedia Flash Player and Microsoft Internet Explorer 5+
stockpeeker
Posted : Tuesday, December 14, 2004 8:51:04 AM
Registered User
Joined: 12/9/2004
Posts: 1
Need to figure out how to enter OTCBB stock symbols to watchlist.
Doug_H
Posted : Tuesday, December 14, 2004 9:11:48 AM


Worden Trainer

Joined: 10/1/2004
Posts: 4,308
stockpeeker:

These stocks are not included in the TeleChart database and therefore cannot be placed in a WatchList.

The TeleChart database includes all of the common stocks trading on the New York, American, and Nasdaq exchanges.

- Doug
Teaching Online!
adammikkelsen
Posted : Wednesday, February 09, 2005 12:15:10 PM
Registered User
Joined: 2/9/2005
Posts: 2
Hi I am wanting to create a watchlist which only lists the stocks included in the various industry categories above a marekt cap of $500m. Is there a way to do this?

Thanks, Adam
Craig_S
Posted : Wednesday, February 09, 2005 12:21:16 PM


Worden Trainer

Joined: 10/1/2004
Posts: 18,819
You will want to use EasyScan to create this WatchList. Here are a few videos you may enjoy:

Creating EasyScans

Finding Momentum Sectors

Stocks vs their industry

Using the industry menu



- Craig
Here to Help!
wardell
Posted : Friday, September 30, 2005 8:02:01 PM
Registered User
Joined: 12/15/2004
Posts: 2
Hi, I want to import Aust metadata stocks into TC2005. I have set up a new watchlist with import from file and can navigate to the file I want but when I import it - it jumps back to US stocks.
I have other charting software but they are not a scratch on TC2005.

Thanks,
Dave

(email removed by moderator)
Bruce_L
Posted : Friday, September 30, 2005 8:32:55 PM


Worden Trainer

Joined: 10/7/2004
Posts: 65,138
You cannot import data from other sources into TeleChart. However, the data in our program can be exported into other programs.

-Bruce
Personal Criteria Formulas
TC2000 Support Articles
islandrover
Posted : Saturday, October 01, 2005 11:18:51 AM
Registered User
Joined: 10/27/2004
Posts: 36
I do love telechart. It would, however, be nice to have an expanded range of data that we can export from telechart - I've not been able to find a means of exporting PCF results or many data chart results. Am I missing something? Thanks....
Craig_S
Posted : Saturday, October 01, 2005 12:09:06 PM


Worden Trainer

Joined: 10/1/2004
Posts: 18,819
Only the raw daily data and some company information (name, etc) can be exported.

- Craig
Here to Help!
jdoylea
Posted : Saturday, October 01, 2005 4:17:45 PM
Registered User
Joined: 10/1/2005
Posts: 2
Can watch list that you create get exported to a text file?
Craig_S
Posted : Wednesday, October 05, 2005 8:29:19 AM


Worden Trainer

Joined: 10/1/2004
Posts: 18,819
Here is a video on exporting to text

Exporting data to text format - comma, space or tab delimited

- Craig
Here to Help!
pbshah
Posted : Friday, October 13, 2006 7:17:25 PM
Registered User
Joined: 10/10/2006
Posts: 2
I cannot see the video here. I have downloaded the latest flash as well.
thebeaz
Posted : Monday, October 16, 2006 5:23:16 PM
Registered User
Joined: 10/2/2005
Posts: 2
Hi,
There is nothing in the first message here but a big empty white box...I just watched the first video in this series, so I know my Flash is working.
Bruce_L
Posted : Monday, October 16, 2006 5:29:40 PM


Worden Trainer

Joined: 10/7/2004
Posts: 65,138
It is working on my system. Some things to note:

The video is designed to be viewed with the Internet Explorer web browser (although I used Firefox to view it).

Visit www.adobe.com to download the latest Flash Player for your computer.

The following site has several links for troubleshooting Flash player errors:

Flash Player Support FAQ

If you still can not get the videos to play properly, disable your antivirus/firewall programs and then reload the webpage with the video and see if you can play it now.

If you are trying to view the videos over a dialup Internet connection, please be advised that these videos can take a while to load. They can be very large files.

It may help to right-click the video and set Quality to Low. You can also try right-clicking the video, going to Settings and clicking the open folder icon in the lower left corner. Set Local Storage to the far-right for Unlimited.

If this does not resolve the issue, please contact technical support.

All e-mail communication sent to support@worden.com during business hours (Monday through Friday 9AM-11PM and Saturday and Sunday 9AM-3PM ET) should be answered within 20 minutes of arrival. For an even quicker response to tech support questions, we recommend calling our voice line at (919) 408-0542 (there is no phone support on Sundays, some Market Holidays or after 9PM ET on weekdays).

-Bruce
Personal Criteria Formulas
TC2000 Support Articles
mdb770
Posted : Monday, October 16, 2006 6:31:50 PM
Registered User
Joined: 10/15/2006
Posts: 3
The problem is that the video file has a space in its name - some browsers (including my IE 6.0) can't take it.

Video file name: "Personal WatchList_controller.swf"
The space after "personal" should be replaced with "_" or "%20".

Please fix ASAP!
mdb770
Posted : Tuesday, October 17, 2006 6:22:41 PM
Registered User
Joined: 10/15/2006
Posts: 3
The URL should look like something like this:
http://www.worden.com/training/videoconfig/Personal%20WatchList.swf
Bruce_L
Posted : Tuesday, October 17, 2006 7:03:55 PM


Worden Trainer

Joined: 10/7/2004
Posts: 65,138
mdb770,
The spaces are now encoded in the URL references in the first post in this topic.

-Bruce
Personal Criteria Formulas
TC2000 Support Articles
kokoda
Posted : Saturday, December 02, 2006 8:30:06 PM
Registered User
Joined: 1/12/2006
Posts: 296
Well, did somebody remove the space? I have Windows XP, using Internet Explorer, and haven't had a problem with many other videos on this site.

I also get the empty white box with my pointer changed to a "hand", that gives a message box with "click to activate to use this control". I "click" and nothing happens and the hand chanes to a pointer (normal).

tc2005kbm
Posted : Wednesday, December 06, 2006 7:24:08 AM
Registered User
Joined: 7/5/2005
Posts: 6
How Can I Group My Personal Watch List like following ?

My Personal Watchlist

|------ Watch List 1
|------- Watch List 2



How Can I Create Easy Scan/PCF Which is Applicable to Only My Personal Watrchlist ????
Craig_S
Posted : Wednesday, December 06, 2006 8:04:17 AM


Worden Trainer

Joined: 10/1/2004
Posts: 18,819
You can choose any WatchList as the basis of an EasyScan. Please watch this short video to see how: Using EasyScan to find stocks that meet your own criteria

- Craig
Here to Help!
tc2005kbm
Posted : Wednesday, December 06, 2006 10:21:25 PM
Registered User
Joined: 7/5/2005
Posts: 6
thanks Craig still this does Not answer my questions

I want to Create a Easy Scan Which will ONLY source
Stocks from ALL MY PERSONAL WATCHLISTs. I DONOT WANT ANY OTHER
STOCKS or INDICES in the System to be Part of this Easy Scan


SO If I have following

Personal Watch List -1 STocks = 10
Personal Watch List -2 STocks = 5

My Easy Scan SHould Work on Only these 15 Stocks





Craig_S
Posted : Thursday, December 07, 2006 5:46:51 AM


Worden Trainer

Joined: 10/1/2004
Posts: 18,819
You will need to create a combined Personal WatchList of 1 and 2 (which will contain 15 stocks, assuming there were no stocks common to 1 and 2)

In EasyScan you could then set the WatchList to Scan to be the newly created combined WatchList.

EasyScan will only scan one WatchList (the one you choose). If you want it to scan any stock in any of your personal WatchLists, you will need to create a single Personal WatchList that contains the stocks you want scanned.

- Craig
Here to Help!
whitespar
Posted : Monday, February 12, 2007 4:00:29 PM
Registered User
Joined: 2/9/2007
Posts: 3
where is the play button?
Bruce_L
Posted : Monday, February 12, 2007 4:04:38 PM


Worden Trainer

Joined: 10/7/2004
Posts: 65,138
whitespar,
It's in the lower left hand corner of the video window. It is the dark gray arrow pointing to the right labeled Play.

-Bruce
Personal Criteria Formulas
TC2000 Support Articles
RoShawN
Posted : Tuesday, February 13, 2007 7:12:29 PM
Registered User
Joined: 2/13/2007
Posts: 1

Howdy,
I like everything so far. I would like to be able to scale the video window just a bit smaller.
Regards,
R. Shaw sends
DhillonTradingCo
Posted : Monday, March 19, 2007 5:52:01 PM
Registered User
Joined: 3/6/2007
Posts: 2
What is the best way to become the next warren Sunjeev?
Craig_S
Posted : Wednesday, March 21, 2007 9:29:25 AM


Worden Trainer

Joined: 10/1/2004
Posts: 18,819
I don't understand your question, dhillon

- Craig
Here to Help!
LarDawg
Posted : Thursday, March 29, 2007 4:51:43 PM
Registered User
Joined: 3/26/2007
Posts: 1
I am trying to import a list of symbols into a new watchlist. The symbols are in a text file and there is nothing but symbols on the list. Tere are no spaces or gaps between symbols and they start from the very top of the page. When I hit import I see the list flash up on the watch list and then it goes blank with no symbols on it. It is empty. I have tried several times and it does the same thing each time.
Bruce_L
Posted : Thursday, March 29, 2007 5:18:09 PM


Worden Trainer

Joined: 10/7/2004
Posts: 65,138
LarDawg,
The most common problem in importing a list to TeleChart is extra characters in the text file that cause our program to miss some or all of the symbols. For example, saving a list in Excel can leave invisible Tab markers that prevent anything from being imported.

To prepare a text file to be imported:

1. Highlight the column of symbols
2. On the program's menu bar, click Edit and select Copy
3. Click the Windows Start button and select Run
4. Type notepad and click OK
5. On Notepad's menu bar, click Edit and select Paste
6. Click File and select Save

You can save the file anywhere but it is best to put it in C:\Program Files\TeleChart. If you choose a different location, be sure to remember where you save the file so you can find it when using TeleChart's import feature.

Note: It is best to make the list of symbols a single column.

To create a new WatchList from a list of symbols generated outside TeleChart:

1. Click TeleChart’s New button and select New WatchList
2. Name the WatchList, select Import from a File and click OK
3. In the Import Symbols From List window, navigate to and select the text file
4. Click Import

Note: If a symbol in the list is not already in the TeleChart database, the import utility will simply skip the symbol.

Other Options:

TeleChart also accepts lists imported from Metastock, TC2000 Version 3, and Watchlists already present in TeleChart.

If this does not address the issue, please contact technical support.

All e-mail communication sent to support@worden.com during business hours (Monday through Friday 9AM-11PM and Saturday and Sunday 9AM-3PM ET) should be answered within 20 minutes of arrival. For an even quicker response to tech support questions, we recommend calling our voice line at (919) 408-0542 (there is no phone support on Sundays, some Market Holidays or after 9PM ET on weekdays).

-Bruce
Personal Criteria Formulas
TC2000 Support Articles
DocMartens
Posted : Tuesday, May 08, 2007 7:18:27 PM
Registered User
Joined: 4/11/2007
Posts: 4
How do I input stocks into my buy watchlist?
Craig_S
Posted : Tuesday, May 08, 2007 10:52:16 PM


Worden Trainer

Joined: 10/1/2004
Posts: 18,819
You can manually add tickers to any Personal WatchList via the WatchList menu at the top of your screen or with the hot-key combo of CTRL + A

- Craig
Here to Help!
threetees
Posted : Friday, June 22, 2007 12:02:36 PM
Registered User
Joined: 6/22/2007
Posts: 1
why there is no sound?
Bruce_L
Posted : Friday, June 22, 2007 12:07:24 PM


Worden Trainer

Joined: 10/7/2004
Posts: 65,138
threetees,
It has sound when I use the current version of Flash Player when my speakers are connected and volume is not muted. You may wish to review my Monday, October 16, 2006 5:29:40 PM ET post in this topic. If this does not resolve the issue, please contact technical support.

All e-mail communication sent to support@worden.com during business hours (Monday through Friday 9AM-11PM and Saturday and Sunday 9AM-3PM ET) should be answered within 20 minutes of arrival. For an even quicker response to tech support questions, we recommend calling our voice line at (919) 408-0542 (there is no phone support on Sundays, some Market Holidays or after 9PM ET on weekdays).

-Bruce
Personal Criteria Formulas
TC2000 Support Articles
alqubati
Posted : Saturday, April 04, 2009 3:25:33 AM
Registered User
Joined: 3/30/2009
Posts: 1

hi thanks

terencer
Posted : Tuesday, March 09, 2010 8:51:54 AM
Registered User
Joined: 1/25/2010
Posts: 3
Hello,
I am trying to import a text file containing a list of symbols into a personal watchlist. Upon import, I see that the watchlist orders the symbols alphabetically, thus losing the order in which I entered them into the text file. Is there a way to retain the order ?

Thanks,
Terence
Bruce_L
Posted : Tuesday, March 09, 2010 9:31:03 AM


Worden Trainer

Joined: 10/7/2004
Posts: 65,138
terencer,
Welcome to the forums. A very good foundation for learning how to use TeleChart can be gained by reviewing the following:

If you are new to TeleChart READ THIS FIRST!

The only order that can be controlled in Export to Text in TeleChart is if the dates are in ascending or descending order.

-Bruce
Personal Criteria Formulas
TC2000 Support Articles
terencer
Posted : Tuesday, March 09, 2010 3:20:25 PM
Registered User
Joined: 1/25/2010
Posts: 3
Bruce, I'm interested in retaining the order of symbols, when importing into a telechart watchlist, not exporting from telechart.
Bruce_L
Posted : Tuesday, March 09, 2010 3:37:17 PM


Worden Trainer

Joined: 10/7/2004
Posts: 65,138
terencer,
I'm sorry I misunderstood your request. There is no way to control the order of an imported WatchList. The order is controlled entirely by the Active Sort.

-Bruce
Personal Criteria Formulas
TC2000 Support Articles
shevkoplyas
Posted : Thursday, October 14, 2010 10:23:19 PM

Registered User
Joined: 11/26/2009
Posts: 16
QUOTE (Craig_S)
Only the raw daily data and some company information (name, etc) can be exported.

What about 'capitalizatoin' (basically number of shares) and 'P/E' and 'earnings' - all these are available as an EasyScan Criteria, and imho they are also raw daily data (since no calculation required to get these values). Why these can not be exported?

thanks
StockGuy
Posted : Monday, October 18, 2010 3:53:40 PM

Administration

Joined: 9/30/2004
Posts: 9,187

Our contract with the data vendor prohibits exporting of the fundamental data.

Users browsing this topic
Guest-1

Forum Jump
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.