Download software Tutorial videos
Subscription & data-feed pricing Class schedule

New account application Trading resources
Margin rates Stock & option commissions

Attention: Discussion forums are read-only for extended maintenance until further notice.
Welcome Guest, please sign in to participate in a discussion. Search | Active Topics |

Is Market/Sector conformance important? Rate this Topic:
Previous Topic · Next Topic Watch this topic · Print this topic ·
pv78
Posted : Tuesday, February 21, 2006 9:46:22 PM
I'm still learning and would love to hear from the pros if they look for market and sector being on the same side of stock's direction. I know there are different trading styles and everyone does what suits them best. But my question is what do you guys do if you spot a great stock for instance YMI, GEOI that seems like its resuming uptrend but then the market is headed down. Do you not trade during months of questionable market direction? And if you do trade during these months do you actually make money?

Thanks in advance!
HaveNoCents
Posted : Tuesday, February 21, 2006 11:22:43 PM
My trading style before using elliott waves (which I am testing now) was

1. Determine overall trend of market. For this I used the 150 day moving average of the russell 3000. If the trend was up, I went long. If the trend was down I went short. If the trend was flat, I never traded. I still plan on not trading if the trend is flat with elliott waves. I also stop trading when I reach my financial objective of 20% total return. I did have one year where I made my 20% return by late January and I did not begin to trade again until december because I knew I would be holding the stocks into the next year.

2. I would use a pcf that gave me stocks where the 150ma and 200ma were close, but where the 50ma and the current price were above the 150ma if I was going long.