Download software Tutorial videos
Subscription & data-feed pricing Class schedule

New account application Trading resources
Margin rates Stock & option commissions

Attention: Discussion forums are read-only for extended maintenance until further notice.
Welcome Guest, please sign in to participate in a discussion. Search | Active Topics |

Profile: pv78
About
User Name: pv78
Groups: Gold User, Member, TeleChart
Interests:
Statistics
Number of Posts: 26
[0.01% of all post / 0.00 posts per day]
Last 10 Posts
Topic: help on number of open positions
Posted: Saturday, April 21, 2007 11:09:02 AM
I'm a relatively new trader and was looking for some advice on how to determine the number of open positions at a given time. I do take partial profits, and let the remaining position run and also respect stop losses (mental stops to escape market noise).

My problem is that I have a short biased portfolio that I began accumulating on Feb 28. I was convinced that the market is headed for a downturn (as did many others) and started looking for shorts. My usual position size is 1/10 of my account value (give or take depending on risk) and I have close to 10 short positions open. Clearly that hasn't done well in the month of march. Do you have any advice given the past month, when did you initiate new shorts and when did you stay out?
Topic: What does it take to become a successful investor?
Posted: Tuesday, August 8, 2006 8:28:48 PM
Thank you all! This is great stuff and gives me a lot to think about.
Topic: What does it take to become a successful investor?
Posted: Saturday, July 29, 2006 6:54:39 PM
I have been trading for about a year now but my trading account has been following a persistent downtrend and I'm not sure why. So I'm hoping I can get some help from you experts.