Welcome Guest, please sign in to participate in a discussion. | Search | Active Topics | |
Registered User Joined: 2/22/2010 Posts: 187
|
Dear Support,
I have used the code below to plot a horizontal line for the intraday high of today. I got it from the forum (thanks), but I cant find the one for the low of the day. Do I just change the word 'high' for 'low' in the code to get the intraday low? Help is appreciated.
Thanks thevinman
'Current Intraday High
Static High As Single
If isFirstBar Then High = Price.High
If Price.DateValue.DayOfYear <> Price.DateValue(1).DayOfYear Then High = Price.High
High = System.Math.Max(High, Price.High)
Plot = High
|
|
Administration
Joined: 9/30/2004 Posts: 9,187
|
Yes, try changing "high" to "low" everywhere in the code.
|
|
Worden Trainer
Joined: 10/7/2004 Posts: 65,138
|
thevinman,
You'll also need to change System.Math.Max to System.Math.Min.
-Bruce Personal Criteria Formulas TC2000 Support Articles
|
|
Registered User Joined: 2/22/2010 Posts: 187
|
Thanks again guys!
the code for the low of the day is:
'Current Intraday Low
Static Low As Single
If isFirstBar Then Low = Price.Low
If Price.DateValue.DayOfYear <> Price.DateValue(1).DayOfYear Then Low = Price.Low
Low = System.Math.Min(Low, Price.Low)
Plot = Low
Is it also possible to plot yesterdays low by using this code? By saying price.low(1) instead of price.low?
Kind regards,
thevinman
|
|
Worden Trainer
Joined: 10/7/2004 Posts: 65,138
|
No, Price.Low(1) is just the Low of the previous Bar. You need to manually calculate and store the Low of the Previous Day if you are using an intraday Bar Interval.
Static Low(1) As Single
If isFirstBar Then
Low(0) = Single.NaN
Low(1) = Single.NaN
End If
If Price.DateValue.DayOfYear <> Price.DateValue(1).DayOfYear Then
Low(1) = Low(0)
Low(0) = Price.Low
End If
Low(0) = System.Math.Min(Low(0), Price.Low)
Plot = Low(1)
-Bruce Personal Criteria Formulas TC2000 Support Articles
|
|
Registered User Joined: 2/22/2010 Posts: 187
|
Dear Bruce,
Thank you for the codes. This is awsome.
Yesterdays high and low code is interesting for SF5 to put into there indicator list. Yesterdays high and low are used by traders as intraday support and resitances levels.
Again thank you for helping me out.
Cheers thevinman
|
|
Registered User Joined: 2/22/2010 Posts: 187
|
This is the code for yesterdays high:
Static High(1) As Single
If isFirstBar Then
High(0) = Single.NaN
High(1) = Single.NaN
End If
If Price.DateValue.DayOfYear <> Price.DateValue(1).DayOfYear Then
High(1) = High(0)
High(0) = Price.High
End If
High(0) = System.Math.Max(High(0), Price.High)
Plot = High(1)
Save it as an indicator and overlay it in the intraday price chart.
cheers thevinman
|
|
Worden Trainer
Joined: 10/7/2004 Posts: 65,138
|
You're welcome.
-Bruce Personal Criteria Formulas TC2000 Support Articles
|
|
Registered User Joined: 2/22/2010 Posts: 187
|
Dear Bruce,
I have plotted the todays intraday high in the price chart, but the line is touching all the previous bars that set the todays high. I would just like to have one horizontal line that would represent the high of the day. So everytime it makes a new high the horizontal line goes up also. Could I use the code for yesterdays high to create one static horizontal line?
Kind regards,
thevinman
|
|
Worden Trainer
Joined: 10/7/2004 Posts: 65,138
|
No, you can't use the Code for yesterday's High. It uses exactly the same algorithm except that it takes the current High or Low and stores it as yesterday's High or Low whenever the day changes. If you were to Plot High(0) or Low(0) instead of High(1) or Low(1) it would look exactly the same.
To get the High or Low of the current day to Plot for the entire Day (instead of when that High or Low is hit as you are doing now), you would need to determine the value and then reloop through the day to Plot the value. The Horizontal Pointers topic has examples of this.
-Bruce Personal Criteria Formulas TC2000 Support Articles
|
|
Guest-1 |