Welcome Guest, please sign in to participate in a discussion. Search | Active Topics |

Relative Volume Surge Indicator Rate this Topic:
Previous Topic · Next Topic Watch this topic · Print this topic ·
MontyPelerin
Posted : Sunday, October 7, 2007 5:06:50 PM
Hello,

I am new to Blocks, just having completed the training workshop in Atlanta (which, by the way, was excellent).

I would like to know how to code a new indicator. I call it the Relative Volume Surge Indicator. This indicator relates volume in a specific stock to market/industry volume. Specifically the indicator relates current volume against average volume for a stock as compared to the market or industry.

The formula is a ratio defined as follows: RVSI = A/B where A and B are shown below (in TC 2000 notation):

A = V/AVGV45 for the current watchlist item (I am able to set this up in blocks)
B = V/AVGV45 for the market or industry, defined below (not able to do this)

The rationale for this indicator is to separate stock volume surges/drops from market/industry surges/drops. The plot will usually be in the range of 1.0. Significant deviations (either way) are apt to be meaningful.

There is nothing magical about a MA of 45 periods so I would want to have the moving average period able to be changed via clicking on the indicator rather than having to enter the block diagram. Additionally, I would like also to easily change from market to industry. Market, for my purposes, should be a choice between the DJ 30 and Nas 100 (or perhaps a broader list of indices). Industry should be a choice between Industry and Sub-industry. I realize that I can only do one measure per indicator, but would like the flexibility to look at RSVI in different ways.

Part B is where I am stuck. Specifically, I have two problems:
1. I don't know how to feed volume from an outside (outside the current watchlist) source.
2. I don't know how to make this outside source user-choosable and friendly or even if this aspect is possible.