Download software Tutorial videos
Subscription & data-feed pricing Class schedule


New account application Trading resources
Margin rates Stock & option commissions

Attention: Discussion forums are read-only for extended maintenance until further notice.
Welcome Guest, please sign in to participate in a discussion. Search | Active Topics |

Using EasyScan to find stocks that meet your own criteria Topic Rating:
Previous Topic · Next Topic Watch this topic · Print this topic ·
Doug_H
Posted : Tuesday, October 05, 2004 11:47:15 PM


Worden Trainer

Joined: 10/1/2004
Posts: 4,308








You can download this video and watch it offline. Save the file to your hard drive, then unzip the files and double-click on the .html file to start the video.


keywords: EasyScan scanning stocks criteria custom find creating create

- Doug
Teaching Online!

To view this video you must have Macromedia Flash Player and Microsoft Internet Explorer 5+
srkaldi
Posted : Thursday, December 16, 2004 5:21:41 PM
Registered User
Joined: 12/15/2004
Posts: 81


GREAT !
vablake
Posted : Sunday, February 06, 2005 11:47:23 AM
Registered User
Joined: 12/10/2004
Posts: 10
I learn something everytime I watch these videos.
nialator
Posted : Thursday, April 07, 2005 10:24:41 AM
Registered User
Joined: 3/23/2005
Posts: 1
makes finding your criteria much easier!
Craig_S
Posted : Thursday, April 07, 2005 11:29:55 AM


Worden Trainer

Joined: 10/1/2004
Posts: 18,819
Glad you liked the video!

- Craig
Here to Help!
cjaykay
Posted : Thursday, April 07, 2005 8:32:24 PM
Registered User
Joined: 3/12/2005
Posts: 2
Very illuminating lesson! Thanks.
basduijv
Posted : Friday, October 14, 2005 10:10:07 AM
Registered User
Joined: 10/4/2005
Posts: 1
Hi my name is sebastiaan and i just joined the telechart system. I am watching the videos but i did not find what i am looking for.
I want to find all the channeling stock. can you tell me how i should do that.
I think i have to find the right parameters and then add them to easy scan. Can you help me out??

thanx
Craig_S
Posted : Friday, October 14, 2005 10:20:48 AM


Worden Trainer

Joined: 10/1/2004
Posts: 18,819
This video should be what you need:

Scan for stocks bouncing in a lateral channel

- Craig
Here to Help!
snowrats4Christ
Posted : Sunday, November 27, 2005 7:46:37 PM
Registered User
Joined: 12/27/2004
Posts: 1
I've needed to watch this video for a long time. Good stuf.
Craig_S
Posted : Sunday, November 27, 2005 7:59:25 PM


Worden Trainer

Joined: 10/1/2004
Posts: 18,819
I'm glad it was helpful

- Craig
Here to Help!
asrmeskc17
Posted : Monday, November 28, 2005 4:42:28 PM
Platinum Customer Platinum Customer

Joined: 2/26/2005
Posts: 15
Companies that have within the last 5 trading days (or thereabouts) broken their 50 day moving averages to the downside
Craig_S
Posted : Monday, November 28, 2005 6:01:14 PM


Worden Trainer

Joined: 10/1/2004
Posts: 18,819
Check out this video:

Create PCFs and EasyScans to find moving average crossovers

- Craig
Here to Help!
StockGuy
Posted : Monday, November 28, 2005 6:03:05 PM

Administration

Joined: 9/30/2004
Posts: 9,187
Also, Bruce answered your question when you reposted it as a new topic.

pcf for the following
StockGuy
Posted : Tuesday, November 29, 2005 10:10:55 AM

Administration

Joined: 9/30/2004
Posts: 9,187
fixing video icon
cjj1cjj1
Posted : Thursday, December 01, 2005 8:43:43 AM
Registered User
Joined: 12/1/2005
Posts: 1
very clear
anindya
Posted : Saturday, December 03, 2005 9:01:49 AM
Registered User
Joined: 12/3/2005
Posts: 1
if you have any indian stock market related software please let me show
Doug_H
Posted : Saturday, December 03, 2005 9:07:04 AM


Worden Trainer

Joined: 10/1/2004
Posts: 4,308
We do not.

- Doug
Teaching Online!
paulot
Posted : Monday, December 05, 2005 8:33:02 PM
Gold Customer Gold Customer

Joined: 3/2/2005
Posts: 2
well done sir...a real time saver

paul h
23m
Posted : Wednesday, April 05, 2006 10:55:18 PM
Registered User
Joined: 4/2/2006
Posts: 19
How can i add in the all stocks for NYSE in my watchlist.
I am shown that I can add in the iShares for the NYSE but I can not figure out how to add in the whole of the NYSE into a watchlist.
Is there an easy way to do this?
Doug_H
Posted : Wednesday, April 05, 2006 10:58:33 PM


Worden Trainer

Joined: 10/1/2004
Posts: 4,308
Create a new EasyScan according to instructions in the video in this thread. Add the condition called Exchange, and select NYSE. WHen you save this scan, it will be your list of all NYSE stocks.



- Doug
Teaching Online!
23m
Posted : Thursday, April 06, 2006 9:04:26 AM
Registered User
Joined: 4/2/2006
Posts: 19
I've looked at the video and have done what you mentioned. I end up with 2766 stocks for NYSE is that accurate? I've been told its to many and wonder if i am doing something wrong.

Thanks i appreciate your help.
Craig_S
Posted : Thursday, April 06, 2006 9:06:58 AM


Worden Trainer

Joined: 10/1/2004
Posts: 18,819
Nope, that is all of the NYSE stocks in TeleChart. You might consider adding Price Per Share and Volume 90-Day to the EasyScan to weed out the ones that don't fit your trading requirements.

- Craig
Here to Help!
Doug_H
Posted : Thursday, April 06, 2006 9:07:12 AM


Worden Trainer

Joined: 10/1/2004
Posts: 4,308
2766 is the same number I come up with. This represents all of the common stocks trading on the NYSE.

- Doug
Teaching Online!
23m
Posted : Thursday, April 06, 2006 11:26:14 AM
Registered User
Joined: 4/2/2006
Posts: 19
Thanks Doug, I'm trying to now get the New Highs of the NYSE on that easy scan. Can you give me guidance on this? What i've tried is not working.
Doug_H
Posted : Thursday, April 06, 2006 11:39:44 AM


Worden Trainer

Joined: 10/1/2004
Posts: 4,308
You could always add Price as % of 52 Week High as another scan condition. You're looking for values of 100, which would be all of the NYSE stocks where the price is currently at the 52 week high.

If you wanted to make sure this was a new high, you could write and update this PCF:

H>MAXH250.1

Then add the condition to your scan in place of Price as % of 52 week high.

If you're not familiar with writing PCF's please watch this training video:

How to create a Personal Criteria Forumula (PCF)

- Doug
Teaching Online!
23m
Posted : Thursday, April 06, 2006 12:53:21 PM
Registered User
Joined: 4/2/2006
Posts: 19
thanks i'll do that.
Doug_H
Posted : Thursday, April 06, 2006 12:55:24 PM


Worden Trainer

Joined: 10/1/2004
Posts: 4,308
You're welcome. My pleasure!

- Doug
Teaching Online!
23m
Posted : Thursday, April 06, 2006 11:30:47 PM
Registered User
Joined: 4/2/2006
Posts: 19
Hi again Doug I did just that but it does not work properly when I added this H>MAXH250.1 to the easy scan
it just did not calc anything.
Any suggestions?
23m
Posted : Friday, April 07, 2006 7:30:54 AM
Registered User
Joined: 4/2/2006
Posts: 19
The NYSE index is working in the Easy Scan but when I add the condition H>MAXH250.1 the sorting does not change in anyway and stays at 0. Its does not observe the new highs.
It looks like it should be really easy so I'm not sure whta i'm missing.
thanks for your help.
Craig_S
Posted : Friday, April 07, 2006 9:38:17 AM


Worden Trainer

Joined: 10/1/2004
Posts: 18,819
The formula is fine.

Watch this short video to be sure your PCF is calcualted for today's data and calcualting on ALL ITEMS IN THE SYSTEM.

How to create a Personal Criteria Forumula (PCF)

- Craig
Here to Help!
23m
Posted : Friday, April 07, 2006 2:54:19 PM
Registered User
Joined: 4/2/2006
Posts: 19
I did the calc but it does not pull out the new highs stocks, i'm ending up with the same number. Not sure whats going on. If you have any other suggestions. Thanks
I'll look at the video again.
Craig_S
Posted : Friday, April 07, 2006 4:56:28 PM


Worden Trainer

Joined: 10/1/2004
Posts: 18,819
I am not sure exactly what is happening...

1. You created a new PCF with the formula

H>MAXH250.1

2. When you add it to an EasyScan does the count change OR does it give you a count of 0?

3. When you edit the PCF, test it on IBM and tell me what it says in the test screen.

4. Sort the Dow Jones 30 WatchList by the PCF. What happens?

- Craig
Here to Help!
23m
Posted : Friday, April 07, 2006 9:04:11 PM
Registered User
Joined: 4/2/2006
Posts: 19
NO change in the DOW JONES 30 sort.

When I added it to the easy scan the count does not change and it stays at 0. NO change.

Craig_S
Posted : Friday, April 07, 2006 9:22:21 PM


Worden Trainer

Joined: 10/1/2004
Posts: 18,819
Stays at zero?

Do you mean it is AT zero before you add the criterion?

Did you TEST the PCF on IBM? If so, what does it say?

- Craig
Here to Help!
23m
Posted : Friday, April 07, 2006 9:30:16 PM
Registered User
Joined: 4/2/2006
Posts: 19
I just got it to work. Thanks for the help.

This is how it fixed. I had named my PCF as H>MAXH250.1.
While I was trying to fix the bug, I thought I would change the name of my PCF to try something. I changed it to New Highs. When I then added the New Highs PCF to the Easy Scan it worked.
I am not sure if you have come across this problem before but I thought I would let you know what occured.

Thanks so much for all your help.
Craig_S
Posted : Saturday, April 08, 2006 2:37:51 AM


Worden Trainer

Joined: 10/1/2004
Posts: 18,819
Glad it finally worked.

- Craig
Here to Help!
Bull
Posted : Saturday, April 08, 2006 10:17:39 AM
Registered User
Joined: 10/7/2004
Posts: 8
This is 162389. I have 2 questions. 1.I set up a new pcf but can't figure out how to update it. I have looked at the video 5 times but still can't find what to click to make it happen.
2. Is it possible to put more than one codition in the same pcf? - BOB
Craig_S
Posted : Saturday, April 08, 2006 10:20:28 AM


Worden Trainer

Joined: 10/1/2004
Posts: 18,819
Have you watched this video?

How to create a Personal Criteria Forumula (PCF)

To calculate your PCFs you go to DATABANK|PERSONAL CRITERIA FORMULAS. Be sure you have ALL ITEMS IN THE SYSTEM set as your WatchList and click the calculate button.

AND as well as OR are viable in a PCF. I prefer to keep PCFs as simple as possible then combine them, as needed, in the same EasyScan. You may find this video interesting:

Constructing more versatile and reusable Personal Criteria Formulas

- Craig
Here to Help!
fantastic4
Posted : Sunday, April 16, 2006 11:22:07 AM
Registered User
Joined: 7/23/2005
Posts: 128
Hi Guys,

can anyone help me. I am platinum member. Normally i never have any probs in logging in to telecharts but today for some reason when i click on the icon and key in my username and password, i cannot get past this point the login sequence just sits there, normally of course it allows you to autologin after 3 seconds. i have tried restarting my computer with no success.

any advice much appreciated.

thanks
jay
Craig_S
Posted : Sunday, April 16, 2006 9:17:29 PM


Worden Trainer

Joined: 10/1/2004
Posts: 18,819
Our tech crew will be your best resource for this.

Technical Support is available via telephone, live chat and email. Their hours are 9AM - 9PM EST through the week, and 9AM - 3PM Saturday. support@worden.com or 919.408.0542. Suport is also available via live chat. You can go to the Live Tech Support Chat during business hours for live interactive chat with one of the Tech Support Agents.

- Craig
Here to Help!
Users browsing this topic
Guest-1

Forum Jump
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.