Download software Tutorial videos
Subscription & data-feed pricing Class schedule

New account application Trading resources
Margin rates Stock & option commissions

Attention: Discussion forums are read-only for extended maintenance until further notice.
Welcome Guest, please sign in to participate in a discussion. Search | Active Topics |

Money Management Rate this Topic:
Previous Topic · Next Topic Watch this topic · Print this topic ·
pv78
Posted : Wednesday, November 16, 2005 7:17:05 PM
I'm a novice trader and wanted to ask how do you manage your money between positions. Here's what I do and I'm sure there is a better because I'm not doing too well -

* The maximum position size is equity / 10 so if I have 60k this would be $6k
* I start with 2/3 position in a stock so $4k in this example
* If the stock goes up 6-7%, I add the remaining 1/3 -- $2k
* I set a trailing stop loss for 1/2 position at about 4-5% (I don't want to give up the profit but the stock might go back up so I set a loss on just half the position)
* If the above loss gets taken out, I set stop loss at entry price or sell at market if it has dropped below

Any suggestions are welcome

Thanks!
rmr1976
Posted : Wednesday, November 16, 2005 7:54:28 PM
I don't like having a fixed percentage stop. A stop should be a function of the volatility of the stock in question.

A stop should also be set at a place where your initial analysis of the trade is proven incorrect.

Although I trade options, what I do when I buy stock is pick a particular chart point that would suggest my analysis is wrong, and then add/subtract 2-3% from that number. If the loss is too big for my comfort, I'll either pass on the position, or put in a smaller amount of capital.

I will also use a time stop. If a stock fails to move in a particular period of time (ie. 1 month), but hasn't hit a stop loss, and I'm growing impatient, I'll put in an above market sell order.