Welcome Guest, please sign in to participate in a discussion. | Search | Active Topics | |
Registered User Joined: 5/10/2010 Posts: 45
|
Bruce,
Is there an indicator that approximates what I would call “Moving Pivot Points?” I can see what the pivot points (PP) are at this time. Is there a way to track how the PP’s have moving over time?
|
|
Worden Trainer
Joined: 10/7/2004 Posts: 65,138
|
There isn't a way to plot the daily values this way on intraday charts, but you can plot the daily values on daily charts by adding Custom PCF Indicators using formulas for the pivot point values.
R4:
(7 * H1 - 5 * L1 + C1) / 3
R3:
(5 * H1 - 4 * L1 + 2 * C1) / 3
R2:
(4 * H1 - 2 * L1 + C1) / 3
R1:
(2 * H1 - L1 + 2 * C1) / 3
PP:
(H1 + L1 + C1) / 3
S1:
(2 * L1 - H1 + 2 * C1) / 3
S2:
(4 * L1 - 2 * H1 + C1) / 3
S3:
(5 * L1 - 4 * H1 + 2 * C1) / 3
S4:
(7 * L1 - 5 * H1 + C1) / 3
-Bruce Personal Criteria Formulas TC2000 Support Articles
|
|
Registered User Joined: 5/10/2010 Posts: 45
|
Bruce,
I copied everything into a Write Indicator Formula however, once tested I got a Syntax Error message.
Please advise.
Thanks
|
|
Worden Trainer
Joined: 10/7/2004 Posts: 65,138
|
You would need to add Custom PCF Indicators to the chart.
How to add an indicator to a chart template
How to edit an Indicator
Each one of the 9 formulas given above would need to be put in its own Custom PCF Indicator. And just the formula part. So the Formula to use in the Custom PCF Indicator for the Pivot Point itself would just be the following (you would leave out the PP: part which is just there to tell you what the formula represents).
(H1 + L1 + C1) / 3
The formulas need to plotted in the same pane and scale as price. You can do this by clicking on price and selecting Add Plot Here... or you can add the indicator in its own pane and then move it.
How to Overlay an Indicator
In both cases you need to make sure to scale with price by choosing to scale with price when prompted (and not to scale the Custom PCF Indicator on its own).
-Bruce Personal Criteria Formulas TC2000 Support Articles
|
|
Registered User Joined: 4/30/2015 Posts: 197
|
I have added Pivot Point Indicator to my Chart, when i adjust time frame from M W or D I get very different values (and I understand why). When I reference the Values of the pivot points on the Daily chart then change time frame to 4H 2H 1H 30M 15M 10M 5M the values remain the same within pennies of the Levels shown on the daily chart. I.E. what is how as S1 on the 4H is near he daily chart S1 Value,Then he 4H = 2H and the 4H = 15M etc exactly same values are shown on each chart.
SINCE THEY ARE THE SAME ON THE VARIOUS INTRADAY FRAMES, I ASSUME THEY ARE CALCULATED FROM DAILY CANDLE VALUES.
Questions: The Values I see plot go back several days on my 15M chart (S1 Does not change)
1) The Values I saw yesterday vs the values today - a) Are they different each day b) Are the calculated from Yesterdays Daily Candle
I WOULD LIKE the formula for Each S3 S2 S1 Pivot R1 R2 R3
|
|
Registered User Joined: 4/30/2015 Posts: 197
|
i actually have the formulas, what i really like to know is how to take what is being plotted on the intraday that is show the daily values so they can be offset by 1 or 2 or 3 days back
|
|
Registered User Joined: 4/30/2015 Posts: 197
|
Really easy way to accomplish this would to simple modify the current Pivot Point indicator to have a selection to offset
|
|
Worden Trainer
Joined: 10/7/2004 Posts: 65,138
|
The values on intraday charts are calculated using the daily values using the formulas already given above (note that R4 and S4 are not actually plotted). The O1, H1, L1 and C1 in the formulas indicate it is using yesterday's values in the forrmulas.
When plotting daily or longer time frames, the Pivot Point indicator using the bars on the chart for the calculations.
There is no way currently in TC2000 currently to alter these calculations to use different values, different time frames or to alter the number of bars ago used. Thank you for your suggestion.
-Bruce Personal Criteria Formulas TC2000 Support Articles
|
|
Registered User Joined: 4/30/2015 Posts: 197
|
Would be nice if TC2000 just set Values for Pivots Each day using there names
S3 = x S2 = x S1 = x PP = x R1 = x R2=x R3 = x Each day for the values that actually show on Our intraday Charts
THEN WE COULD FOR EXAMPLE on a 15m Charts write a custom PCF like this:
(1 line requires 7 different scan items on a Easy Scan to accomplish this) and 3 separate Easy Scans to accomplish all 3 Lines OR 1 PCF AND 1 LINE ON 1 EASY SCAN to accomplish anyone of the setups if the values were assigned daily on the Platform
C2 > S1 and L2 > S1 and C1> S1 and L1 > S1 and O > S1 and L -.02 < S1 and C > S1
C2 > S2 and L2 > S2 and C1> S2 and L1 > S2 and O > S2 and L -.02 < S2 and C > S2
C2 > S3 and L2 > S3 and C1> S3 and L1 > S3 and O > S3 and L -.02 < S3 and C > S3
|
|
Registered User Joined: 4/30/2015 Posts: 197
|
((H'10/28/2016' + L'10/28/2016' + C'10/28/2016')/3)
WHEN this formula is use on he daily chart it plots the Pivot Point, but when placed on a 10M or 15M chart it uses the incorrect Low and incorrect Close in the calculation, Thus the Pivot Point Value is incorrect. Can you tell me why?
This would be the Formula for Todays Pivot Point
((H'10/31/2016' + L'10/31/2016' + C'10/31/2016')/3)
|
|
Worden Trainer
Joined: 10/7/2004 Posts: 65,138
|
Thank you for your suggestion.
The reason that it doesn't work is that date references do not work in intraday formulas. There is no syntax available for referencing dates (or times) in anything other than daily formulas.
-Bruce Personal Criteria Formulas TC2000 Support Articles
|
|
Registered User Joined: 4/16/2018 Posts: 16
|
Is there a way to add to show R4 and S4 plotted on a chart?
|
|
Registered User Joined: 4/16/2018 Posts: 16
|
Does the default pivot point indicator calculate pre/post market data or can it be modified to do so? Thanks!
|
|
Worden Trainer
Joined: 10/7/2004 Posts: 65,138
|
No, there isn't a way to plot R4 and S4 on an intraday chart (we could do so on a daily chart).
The Pivot Point calculations should include whatever pre / post market data is available if it is displayed.
Note that each time frame starts the day with the most recent 500 bars of data available and then adds new bars throughout the day if applicable. So if it requires more than 500 bars of data to get back to the start of the previous trading day, then the Pivot Points are still only going to use those data points even if it doesn't get you back to the beginning of the previous trading day in the time frame being plotted.
-Bruce Personal Criteria Formulas TC2000 Support Articles
|
|
Registered User Joined: 4/16/2018 Posts: 16
|
Thank you. Just to clarify, (assuming I am using a 10M timeframe) If I am using the default Pivot Point indicator, would it be possible to add R4/S4? (I assumed they were being used off the daily information anyway) Thanks!
|
|
Worden Trainer
Joined: 10/7/2004 Posts: 65,138
|
No, it would not be possible.
-Bruce Personal Criteria Formulas TC2000 Support Articles
|
|
Guest-1 |