Download software Tutorial videos
Subscription & data-feed pricing Class schedule

New account application Trading resources
Margin rates Stock & option commissions

Attention: Discussion forums are read-only for extended maintenance until further notice.
Welcome Guest, please sign in to participate in a discussion. Search | Active Topics |

Question about ETF's Rate this Topic:
Previous Topic · Next Topic Watch this topic · Print this topic ·
traderm30
Posted : Tuesday, August 18, 2009 5:36:28 PM
I am somewhat new to ETF's and I am trying to find out what websites or books you guys can recommend to learn more especially about the Inverse ETF's now that it appears we are in a downtrend. How do you guys determine what particular ETF you want to invest in? I noticed in Telechart that it has a list of about 795+ different ETF industry groups. What type of scan do some of you perform to find a good inverse ETF? I am mainly interested in just the 1x inverse funds. Can't handle much more risk than that. Thanks in advance.
davidjohnhall
Posted : Tuesday, August 18, 2009 5:46:25 PM

Hey traderm,

I use the same type of scans I use for long candidates.  I prefer the 2x Proshares so I spacebar through all of them looking for either bottoming patterns (a thrust out of a horizontal channel) or continuation patterns (using the dragon to scan for triangles) after the initial bottom thrust.

Some of the ETFs have low volume so you may want a volume filter.  Also, I either stay with the major indexes (spy, DIA, qqqq for 1x ETFs) or the ETFS with the most volatility -- financials, real estate, basic materials.

I think they're a great way to trade and you just about zero out the chance of a massive downside gap -- though during sept of last year there were some pretty big gaps in the 2x funds -- menaing 10%+.

David John Hall
funnymony
Posted : Tuesday, August 18, 2009 6:07:59 PM

QUOTE (traderm30)