Download software Tutorial videos
Subscription & data-feed pricing Class schedule

New account application Trading resources
Margin rates Stock & option commissions

Attention: Discussion forums are read-only for extended maintenance until further notice.
Welcome Guest, please sign in to participate in a discussion. Search | Active Topics |

advice on AAPL Rate this Topic:
Previous Topic · Next Topic Watch this topic · Print this topic ·
djdhrubs
Posted : Monday, April 21, 2008 3:13:39 PM
Hi.  I'm relatively new to this game, and I have a very specific question for you guys.  I've been holding shares in AAPL for the past few weeks, and things have been going quite nicely thank you, with the stock price trending up.  But on Wednesday AAPL have an earnings announcement, which I've been told is a dodgy time to own a stock.

What do you reckon?  Should I play safe and keep my gains, and sell tomorrow, or risk things going (relativel0 dramatically one way or the other?  Are there situations when you would keep hold of a stock even during an earnings annoucement?  Your advice would be very much appreciated.
funnymony
Posted : Monday, April 21, 2008 4:00:16 PM

personally, i wouldn't be buying just prior to earnings, although if already owned it and had some gains, i might hold it through earnings. you need to decide on your targets and objectives and stay with your gameplan, so trading becomes mechanical, instead of emotional.
enkidu
Posted : Monday, April 21, 2008 4:16:07 PM
Personally, I'd take a step back, ask myself: "What is my risk capital, how much am I willing to lose?  For how much of a gain?"  And then decide to allocate accordingly.  Once I decide my risk capital, I'd put it in a call or put option to limit my downside.