Download software Tutorial videos
Subscription & data-feed pricing Class schedule

New account application Trading resources
Margin rates Stock & option commissions

Attention: Discussion forums are read-only for extended maintenance until further notice.
Welcome Guest, please sign in to participate in a discussion. Search | Active Topics |

What indicators do you guys mostly use? Topic Rating:
Previous Topic · Next Topic Watch this topic · Print this topic ·
traderm30
Posted : Monday, April 6, 2009 12:19:16 PM
I was just curious as to what other traders here use as far as indicators go? Do you use the Worden indicators as well or just the basics. Just interested in what fellow traders use. Thanks.
wse
Posted : Monday, April 6, 2009 1:37:38 PM
as a professional trader, i can tell you that other 'professionals' and when i say professionals, i mean people who trade with institutional $, have limited indicators on their platforms. i think why too many people fail at trading  is because they complicate things and also look for more exotic indicators. if professionals dont use them, why should you?

the best way to trade is to learn how professionals trade and trade like them. professionals actually make up about 80-90% of all volume in the market. the difference between you and the professional is that professionals have almost unlimited funds.. many of the 'junior traders' get accounts of $500k-1.5m intraday and overnight accounts of about $50-100k

because buying power is virtually unlimited for big traders, you need to implement stop losses.

just to give you an idea of indicators that professionals have and dont have (i dont remember all of them off the top of my head)...

HAVE
moving averages (simple, exponential, weighted, and more)
rsi
adx
dmi
macd
envelopes
channels

DONT HAVE
parabolic sar
bollinger bands
cci
atr
macd histogram
fpetry
Posted : Monday, April 6, 2009 2:11:45 PM