Download software Tutorial videos
Subscription & data-feed pricing Class schedule

New account application Trading resources
Margin rates Stock & option commissions

Attention: Discussion forums are read-only for extended maintenance until further notice.
Welcome Guest, please sign in to participate in a discussion. Search | Active Topics |

? for davidjohnhall Rate this Topic:
Previous Topic · Next Topic Watch this topic · Print this topic ·
endsley
Posted : Tuesday, June 24, 2008 5:35:05 PM
Hi David,
I'm fairly new to Telechart and the forum, but have read several threads where you share your strategies and analysis.  In one particular thread about VSA, you elaborated on  one strategy as it relates to entries after a volume spike and gap.  You illustrated this with a chart for APOL.
Coincidentally, that is the first thing I scan for with TC.  My wait period is a little longer, typically 10 price bars after the gap, before I consider pulling the trigger, depending on what the weekly chart looks like.  I also like to see what the 10 day linear regression looks like on the volume bars after the surge.
Anyway, I strongly agree with your strategy and have a question about the four custom price indicators you use on the price bars.  Would you share your thoughts on how you use these indicators?

Much appreciated.
davidjohnhall
Posted : Tuesday, June 24, 2008 6:13:12 PM

Hey endsley,

Nice to hear I'm not alone in looking for reversals after gaps.  I like them because they create an "all bets are off" situation and a nearly fresh start. But mostly I like them because as I have them tested and my experience trading them, has shown them to be profitable.