Download software Tutorial videos
Subscription & data-feed pricing Class schedule

New account application Trading resources
Margin rates Stock & option commissions

Attention: Discussion forums are read-only for extended maintenance until further notice.
Welcome Guest, please sign in to participate in a discussion. Search | Active Topics |

Market Maker scams??? Rate this Topic:
Previous Topic · Next Topic Watch this topic · Print this topic ·
Apsll
Posted : Saturday, February 10, 2007 10:13:20 AM

I have no knowledge in this aspect of the market, but I have been reading some old post that refere to certain tactics used by market makers that if true (IMO) are pretty low down...

Example: If you buy 100,000 shares of stock XYZ and the market maker (at this time does not want the price of XYZ to go up) so he lets you have the shares on your account (you now own them) From his personal account, but they do not reflect in the market yet... Now he knows (some how) that there is a lot of people that plan to sell there shares soon, (or even himself)..

When this selling takes place and the price of XYZ drops (as predicted) he will now buy your 100,000 shares (with the money you paid for the stock at the higher price) but he buys the 100,00 shares at the now lower price and pockets the diference...

If this is true then that would say to me that the real market manipulation is done at that level (Market maker) and that they negotiate large lot orders with (Fund managers) and other big spenders, knowing that with a little stock manipulation they will make a fortune..

I think that this happened with a recent perchase I made in VEGF (I know a real penny stock) I bought 7,000 shares at $.51 and although the shares showed up in my brokerage account, I never saw that it registered on the Tape. Latter (when the price droped to a low of $.46) There was a lot of shares traded as the price came back up to $.50