Welcome Guest, please sign in to participate in a discussion. | Search | Active Topics | |
Registered User Joined: 1/2/2009 Posts: 41
|
Hi,
I would like to create a ranking of stocks according to a personal formula. Not using the built-in rankings of SF5. How is possible to do that?.
Once the ranking is created, how can I create a Market Indicator with this ranking from the stocks in a watchlist?.
Thanks.
|
|
Worden Trainer
Joined: 10/7/2004 Posts: 65,138
|
I don't know the contents of your formula, but my Tuesday, March 23, 2010 2:52:38 PM ET post in Market Rank has an example of an Indicator displaying Ranks instead of Values. I generally would not recommend using Ranks as they are a lot slower than using Values.
-Bruce Personal Criteria Formulas TC2000 Support Articles
|
|
Registered User Joined: 1/2/2009 Posts: 41
|
Thanks bruce,
that's the idea, but how can I customize the formula?. There is not access to real code.
Best.
|
|
Worden Trainer
Joined: 10/7/2004 Posts: 65,138
|
I don't know of a way to get ranks like that out of a "formula". But, if you look at the topic, it starts with a formula. The Blocks in the Block Diagram of the Ranked Weighted Quarters Indicators duplicate the formula (which should be possible in most cases).
-Bruce Personal Criteria Formulas TC2000 Support Articles
|
|
Registered User Joined: 1/2/2009 Posts: 41
|
Block diagram is too confusing for me... maybe I could send you en e-mail.
|
|
Worden Trainer
Joined: 10/7/2004 Posts: 65,138
|
Customer training is only provided in the forums and at our live events. It is not provided via email, chat or phone.
-Bruce Personal Criteria Formulas TC2000 Support Articles
|
|
Registered User Joined: 1/2/2009 Posts: 41
|
ok, could you generate the indicator to rank the stocks accordint to a moving average?. For instance, to rank the stocks according to C/AVGC30.
Thanks.
|
|
Worden Trainer
Joined: 10/7/2004 Posts: 65,138
|
Yes, but I only know how to do so using a Block Diagram.
You should be able to Open an attached Indicator directly into a running copy of StockFinder (and save it from within StockFinder if desired). You could also copy and paste the Indicator into the \My Documents\StockFinder\(Your Username)\My Indicators\ folder and then load it like you would any other Indicator (for StockFinder 5, use the \My Documents\StockFinder5\(Your Username)\My Indicators\ folder instead).
Block Diagrams have been de-emphasized in StockFinder but the Your First 3 Block Diagrams video covers creating Block Diagrams. Most people don't do much with Block Diagrams and use Drag and Drop or RealCode exclusively.Attachments: Ranked_Price_MA_Ratio.sfInd - 5 KB, downloaded 434 time(s).
-Bruce Personal Criteria Formulas TC2000 Support Articles
|
|
Registered User Joined: 1/2/2009 Posts: 41
|
Bruce,
thank a lot for your help. Really helpful.
Now I need the last step, I'm trying to combine the ranking filter with other filters, and later to create a market indicator from the stocks of a watchlist. I import the indicator you created as follow, but the code just plot a straight line of value= 49.51 . Please, could you take a look at it?. Thanks.
'# Rank = indicator.MyLibrary.Ranked_Price_MA_Ratio
'# Period = UserInput.Integer = 250
Static compo As Integer
Static cuenta As Integer
If isListCalc Then
compo = ActiveList.SymbolCount
Else
compo = 1
End If
cuenta = 0
If CurrentIndex >= Period Then
If Price.Close >= 4 And Rank.Value >= 50 Then cuenta += 1
Plot = cuenta * compo
Else
Plot = Single.NaN
End If
|
|
Registered User Joined: 1/2/2009 Posts: 41
|
for some reason the previous code now displays nothing!.
|
|
Worden Trainer
Joined: 10/7/2004 Posts: 65,138
|
It appears to be a bug in that the Rank vs List (Percent Rank) Block is not getting transferred to the Block Diagram of the RealCode Indicator when it is created (at least that's what happened to me). It did allow me to edit the Block Diagram to add it in and then Save the Indicator however.
Because of its structure, the attached Indicator is for StockFinder 5 only.Attachments: Ginzburg46233.sfIndRC - 8 KB, downloaded 433 time(s).
-Bruce Personal Criteria Formulas TC2000 Support Articles
|
|
Registered User Joined: 1/2/2009 Posts: 41
|
Bruce,
thanks very much for your work and attention. The new indicator you created works fine now.
|
|
Worden Trainer
Joined: 10/7/2004 Posts: 65,138
|
You're welcome.
-Bruce Personal Criteria Formulas TC2000 Support Articles
|
|
Registered User Joined: 1/2/2009 Posts: 41
|
Bruce, and additional question (this is easy).
How can I change the period of the moving average (in C/AVGC30) in blocks and save the change?. I mean, I know how to change the period in blocks, but not idea how to save the change in blocks.
Thanks.
|
|
Worden Trainer
Joined: 10/7/2004 Posts: 65,138
|
Re-save the altered Indicator. You can give it a different name if desired.
-Bruce Personal Criteria Formulas TC2000 Support Articles
|
|
Guest-1 |