Welcome Guest, please sign in to participate in a discussion. | Search | Active Topics | |
Registered User Joined: 3/20/2005 Posts: 45
|
Hi,
In TeleChart you an clip back the data one bar at a time usng the [ key. When I do this my Linear Regression lines change as the data changes. In StockFinder my Linear Regression Trendlines do not change at all. Instead they move right of the chart as I press the [ key. Is there a setting to change this, or some RealCode way around this?
Thanks,
Dave
|
|
Worden Trainer
Joined: 10/7/2004 Posts: 65,138
|
It's possible, albeit far from pretty. I've created RealCode Linear Regression Channels that use a parent Indicator based on Price that has been trimmed by the Chart Start and End Dates. The fact that it uses the Chart Start and End Dates means it must be saved as a Chart instead of as an Indicator. You should be able to Open the attached Chart directly into a running copy of StockFinder. Attachments: LR_Channel_Scrolling.sfChart - 84 KB, downloaded 567 time(s).
-Bruce Personal Criteria Formulas TC2000 Support Articles
|
|
Registered User Joined: 3/20/2005 Posts: 45
|
Bruce,
Thanks for the Prompt reply! Would this code work on Stochastics? If so, Is there anything that would need to be changed?
Thanks again,
Dave
|
|
Registered User Joined: 3/20/2005 Posts: 45
|
Sorry, Let's try this again.
My Linear Regression Lines are Child Indicators of various Stochastics. So would your code work on those lines?
Dave
|
|
Worden Trainer
Joined: 10/7/2004 Posts: 65,138
|
There is nothing which technically prevents the Indicator from being used with an Indicator other than Price. I've replaced the file attached to my Wednesday, April 29, 2009 4:34:27 PM ET post with a Chart that contains Linear Regression Channels for both Price and the %K line of a Stochastic.
That iit is possible does not make it easy however. The current version of StockFinder does not have a way to save Child Indicators (although even if it did, the fact that we are referencing the Chart Start and End Dates would prevent us from saving the Indicator anyway).
If you Drag and Drop all four components from one Pane to another and select Overlay, the Indicator would still be based on Price even if you also right-clicked on each component and selected Scaling | Scale With | (Parent Indicator) to force it into the same Scale. You would need to right-click on the LR Parent Indicator and select Block Diagram and then left-click and Drag on the Date & Number Series input of the Trim by Dates Block and choose Link From Another Tool | (Parent Indicator) to get it to use the correct Parent.
Things become more complicated if you want to have more than one LR Channel and you need to copy and paste the LR Channel Components to create duplicates. Not only do you need to go into all three of the Block Diagram based components to make sure they have the right right parents, you also need to edit the RealCode of the LR Channel Indicator to change the '# LP = indicator.LRParent line to reference the correct LR Parent Indicator (since there will be more than one).
-Bruce Personal Criteria Formulas TC2000 Support Articles
|
|
Registered User Joined: 3/20/2005 Posts: 45
|
Bruce,
Thank you, I'll play with this and see if I can get it to do what I want. Do you know if there are any plans for StockFinder to get Linear Regression Trendlines to behave like they do in TeleChart?
Dave
|
|
Worden Trainer
Joined: 10/7/2004 Posts: 65,138
|
I do not know.
-Bruce Personal Criteria Formulas TC2000 Support Articles
|
|
Registered User Joined: 3/20/2005 Posts: 45
|
Hi Bruce,
The reason I have been asking is that I have written a RealCode indicator that gives me the angle of my Linear Regression Trendlines. This works well when used on Stochastics as the scale is 0 - 100. I use the LRT period as my X scale and the LRT value as the Y scale. The angle given remains constant throughout zoom levels and of course it changes when I change the charts from Daily to Min. I asked because I wanted to move back one bar at a time to do some visual backtesting.
The only other question I have is this - Is the Linear Regression Trendline Period property exposed to RealCode?
If you are interested here is the code I wrote:
'***************************************
'* Gives the angle of LR Trendline *
'***************************************
'# LRT = indicator.LinearRegressionTrendline
Dim Angle As Single
Dim Period As Integer
Period = 35
If LRT.Value = LRT.Value(1) Then
Angle = 0
Plot = Angle
Else If LRT.Value < LRT.Value(1) Then
Angle = -90 - (System.Math.Atan(Period / (LRT.Value - LRT.Value(1))) * (180.0 / System.Math.PI))
Plot = Angle
Else
Angle = 90 - (System.Math.Atan(Period / (LRT.Value - LRT.Value(1))) * (180.0 / System.Math.PI))
Plot = Angle
End If
Thanks for the help.
Dave
|
|
Worden Trainer
Joined: 10/7/2004 Posts: 65,138
|
If you want to be able to use User Input to adjust the Period, try changing the following two lines:
Dim Period As Integer
Period = 35
To:
'# Period = UserInput.Integer = 35
Another thought that I think might eliminate the need for the Period Input entirely would be to Drag and Drop a Linear Regression Slope of Indicator for your first line instead of a Linear Regression Trendline Indicator.
'# LRS = indicator.LinearRegressionSlope
Dim Angle As Single
If LRS.Value = 0 Then
Angle = 0
Else If LRS.Value < 0 Then
Angle = -90 - (System.Math.Atan(1 / LRS.Value) * (180.0 / System.Math.PI))
Else
Angle = 90 - (System.Math.Atan(1 / LRS.Value) * (180.0 / System.Math.PI))
End If
Plot = Angle
I haven't really tested it, but I think it should produce similar results to using your Indicator where the Period is set to the LR Period minus one.
-Bruce Personal Criteria Formulas TC2000 Support Articles
|
|
Registered User Joined: 3/20/2005 Posts: 45
|
Bruce,
Thank you, I'll give it a go and let you know how it works. I won't be able to get to it until later.
Thanks again.
Dave
|
|
Worden Trainer
Joined: 10/7/2004 Posts: 65,138
|
You're welcome.
-Bruce Personal Criteria Formulas TC2000 Support Articles
|
|
Guest-1 |