Download software Tutorial videos
Subscription & data-feed pricing Class schedule


New account application Trading resources
Margin rates Stock & option commissions

Attention: Discussion forums are read-only for extended maintenance until further notice.
Welcome Guest, please sign in to participate in a discussion. Search | Active Topics |

Importing your current TeleChart settings into TeleChart 2005 Topic Rating:
Previous Topic · Next Topic Watch this topic · Print this topic ·
Craig_S
Posted : Tuesday, March 01, 2005 2:24:29 PM


Worden Trainer

Joined: 10/1/2004
Posts: 18,819

Once you've installed TeleChart 2005, you can import the settings from your previous version of TeleChart using the Import Version 5.x/4.x utility. You MUST install TeleChart 2005 on the same computer as the previous version of TeleChart to use this feature.

If you plan to run TeleChart 2005 on a different computer, install it first on the machine you've been using for TeleChart and run the Import utility. You can then export the TeleChart 2005 settings to the Worden servers and import them to the new computer.








backup restore old version copy settings file server


- Craig
Here to Help!

To view this video you must have Macromedia Flash Player and Microsoft Internet Explorer 5+
jackjwag
Posted : Sunday, March 13, 2005 1:49:55 AM
Registered User
Joined: 10/7/2004
Posts: 4
craig
it sounds to me like you are in the barrel.
i am trying to load tc2005 for the first time in over a month. this is my laptop not my desktop. i have been handed off to msn for a REASON I DO NOT EVEN WANT TO CONSIDER. i also know from my desktop that some recent downloads could have gone better.
can i get anywhere tonight or should i wait a few days til the dust settles. in any event i can wait a few days as this laptop is not an emergency need right now. it is primarily an out of town computer. or pls advise . i am always somewhere in the worden world. however i do need a little guidence occasionally (edited by Moderator)
thanx
Craig_S
Posted : Sunday, March 13, 2005 11:07:53 AM


Worden Trainer

Joined: 10/1/2004
Posts: 18,819
I would drop the tech guys a line tomorrow or email them today (I think we do have email support on most Sudays. Technical Support is available via telephone and email. Their hours are 9AM - 9PM EST through the week, and 9AM - 3PM Saturday. 919.408.0542 or support@worden.com

- Craig
Here to Help!
GoodShep
Posted : Sunday, March 13, 2005 3:27:10 PM
Registered User
Joined: 12/30/2004
Posts: 2
Craig,

Why can't I restore 2005 from the 5.3 backup file directly?

How about if I install the old version (5.3) to the new computer (where I have TC 2005 installed), restore the 5.3 version from a backup, then run the import to TC 2005? I have no intention of running 2005 on my old, Win98 computer.

GoodShep
Craig_S
Posted : Sunday, March 13, 2005 3:40:59 PM


Worden Trainer

Joined: 10/1/2004
Posts: 18,819
That should work fine. For most it is easier to use the back-up to Worden Server option but you can do it however you like. I recomend you update the data on teh 5.3 fresh install before you copy your settings over so that you do not mess up any recent notes.

- Craig
Here to Help!
GoodShep
Posted : Sunday, March 13, 2005 5:28:46 PM
Registered User
Joined: 12/30/2004
Posts: 2
Craig,

I've installed TC 2005 on a brand-new machine. It doesn't have TC 5.3 installed on it, and I don't intend to install 5.3 on it. And TC 2005 will not be installed on my old machine, which is where 5.3 resides, with all my settings.

Is it possible to import my 5.3 settings into 2005 via the 5.3 backup file (which I've transferred over via USB media)? In other words, can 2005 just restore from 5.3's backup file?

tks,
GoodShep
Craig_S
Posted : Sunday, March 13, 2005 8:48:24 PM


Worden Trainer

Joined: 10/1/2004
Posts: 18,819
I believe (not sure) there may be a workaround that allows you to do this. Our Tech Support department will be your best resource to find out. Technical Support is available via telephone and email. Their hours are 9AM - 9PM EST through the week, and 9AM - 3PM Saturday. 919.408.0542 or support@worden.com

- Craig
Here to Help!
jackjwag
Posted : Sunday, March 13, 2005 8:52:54 PM
Registered User
Joined: 10/7/2004
Posts: 4
Thanx Craig. I already e-mailed them. After watching your movie,could I export from my desktop to a Worden server back to my laptop. Then the machines would clone each other. Thats what I want, but will the desktop cover for the other problems on the laptop.

thanx craig
enjoy your movies
I think I will wait for an e-mail from tech supp.
jackjwag
Craig_S
Posted : Sunday, March 13, 2005 8:56:02 PM


Worden Trainer

Joined: 10/1/2004
Posts: 18,819
I really don't know. I bet Tech will, though. Glad you are liking the movies!

- Craig
Here to Help!
yrbarnum
Posted : Monday, March 14, 2005 2:12:37 PM
Registered User
Joined: 3/14/2005
Posts: 1
What happened to the rest of backup/restore video
Craig_S
Posted : Monday, March 14, 2005 2:15:40 PM


Worden Trainer

Joined: 10/1/2004
Posts: 18,819
It is just over 3 minutes long. My "enjoy" is slightly cut off, though. Are you not seeing all 3:18?

- Craig
Here to Help!
deansa
Posted : Wednesday, March 16, 2005 1:32:57 PM
Registered User
Joined: 2/7/2005
Posts: 1
My Easy Scans from Elder Disc for TC 2000 do not import to TC2005
StockGuy
Posted : Wednesday, March 16, 2005 1:44:38 PM

Administration

Joined: 9/30/2004
Posts: 9,187
I don't have a copy of the Elder disc, but if the scans were designed in a previous version of TeleChart, you will need to insatll them to the old version and then import them into TeleChart 2005.
twinladythree
Posted : Friday, March 18, 2005 3:21:21 PM
Gold Customer Gold Customer

Joined: 3/15/2005
Posts: 1
Can't we use the older version. Like every time a "new better" program comes along it fouls up the oldwer program which we are used to.
Doug_H
Posted : Friday, March 18, 2005 4:02:49 PM


Worden Trainer

Joined: 10/1/2004
Posts: 4,308
Eventually you will not be able to continue updating your old version of TeleChart. For now, if you're wanting to continue using version 5.3, your best bet would be to contact technical support and have them explain what your options might be, or how long you'll have before you would no longer be able to download data to that version.

Tech support can be reached by telephone at (919)408-0542, or via email at support@worden.com. Hours M-F 9-9 and Saturdays from 9-3.

- Doug
Teaching Online!
RRJuby
Posted : Sunday, March 20, 2005 2:10:31 PM
Registered User
Joined: 3/20/2005
Posts: 1

thanks Guys...I actually think I got this right the first time around...
trust me...for someone that is NOT a computer geek I lift a glass
of Chateau Latour Paulliac 1990 provided by YOU and your terrific staff...

Thanks

Dick Juby
(removed by Moderator)
annhauck
Posted : Wednesday, March 23, 2005 12:04:11 PM
Registered User
Joined: 3/17/2005
Posts: 1
I put the cd into my computer. I tried to set a password and user name. am not sure where I stand on this.
Craig_S
Posted : Wednesday, March 23, 2005 12:18:13 PM


Worden Trainer

Joined: 10/1/2004
Posts: 18,819
The fact that you are on these forums mean you already have a Sign In. Use the sign in name (annhauck) and the password you created to access the new TeleChart 2005!



- Craig
Here to Help!
StockGuy
Posted : Wednesday, March 23, 2005 12:18:35 PM

Administration

Joined: 9/30/2004
Posts: 9,187
Your username and password are set. Have you tried running TeleChart 2005? There should be an icon on your desktop labeled the same.
grateful22
Posted : Monday, March 28, 2005 6:59:06 PM
Registered User
Joined: 3/28/2005
Posts: 1
so far this is the worst version of this program ever.....i'll let you know if it changes my mind...
StockGuy
Posted : Monday, March 28, 2005 9:55:19 PM

Administration

Joined: 9/30/2004
Posts: 9,187
QUOTE (grateful22)
so far this is the worst version of this program ever.....i'll let you know if it changes my mind...


Any feedback on specific problems you're having is appreciated and we'll try to get them corrected.
Butternut05
Posted : Monday, March 28, 2005 11:31:59 PM
Gold Customer Gold Customer

Joined: 3/28/2005
Posts: 1
I am switching to a new computer with the install of 6.0. I plan to install 6.0 on my old computer so I can upload my settings. I then plan to remove 6.0 to free up the license, as I wish to install 6.0 on my laptop for traveling purposes. The end result will be 6.0 on a new desktop computer and a new laptop. Will this work?

Is there anyway that I can import off of the old computer via my network?

Thanks.
Craig_S
Posted : Tuesday, March 29, 2005 9:13:41 AM


Worden Trainer

Joined: 10/1/2004
Posts: 18,819
You can create a back-up file on the old computer once you install TeleChart2005 but it is just as easy to upload to the Worden Servers.

Your plan appears sound.

- Craig
Here to Help!
patrickhenry
Posted : Tuesday, March 29, 2005 12:37:57 PM
Registered User
Joined: 12/15/2004
Posts: 1
I did the update today and when every I try to open the program I get "Run-time error'429: ActiveXcomponent can't create object. What do I do? I got nothing now and I needed the service to make some trades. I waited 45 mins on hold and got more of the same. Nothing.
Rich A.
StockGuy
Posted : Tuesday, March 29, 2005 12:50:28 PM

Administration

Joined: 9/30/2004
Posts: 9,187
You may need to run the update again and make sure TeleChart is closed before you do. Ctrl-Alt-Del to open Task Manager and make sure it's not still listed under Applications before you run the upgrade.
stkenny
Posted : Tuesday, March 29, 2005 9:13:29 PM
Registered User
Joined: 3/9/2005
Posts: 1
How do you run the update again when you can't open TC2005 due to the error message "run time error 429" activeXcomponent can't create object comes up?????? (removed by moderator)
Doug_H
Posted : Tuesday, March 29, 2005 10:17:42 PM


Worden Trainer

Joined: 10/1/2004
Posts: 4,308
You'll need to contact support about this issue. They can be reached via email at support@worden.com or by telephone at (919)408-0542. Hours are M-F 9AM-9PM and Saturdays 9AM-3PM.

I will forward this post to them.

- Doug
Teaching Online!
StockGuy
Posted : Tuesday, March 29, 2005 10:26:51 PM

Administration

Joined: 9/30/2004
Posts: 9,187
QUOTE (stkenny)
How do you run the update again when you can't open TC2005 due to the error message "run time error 429" activeXcomponent can't create object comes up?????? (removed by moderator)


There's a link to the upgrade on this topic: New Version 6.0.26
boiler135
Posted : Friday, April 01, 2005 9:15:28 PM
Registered User
Joined: 2/8/2005
Posts: 2
I am in somewhat the same situation as goodshep (March 13).

Trying to import 5.3 settings to 2005.

Was out-of-town the last two weeks so I was not able to watch the install video for importing 5.3 settings until tonight.

Here's the situation.

Have installed 2005 version on my new computer. It evidently installed itself over version 5.3. When I click the 5.3 icon it starts 2005. Told 2005 to import 5.3 settings (several times) but they are not present.

I have 5.3 on another computer but it will not let me install 2005 on the other computer because it is after Mar 29. Says it did but no 2005 icon.

Created backup of 5.3 on the old computer, transerred file, and tried to import into 2005 on the new computer. It did not work.

What do I try next.

Thanks,

boiler135
StockGuy
Posted : Friday, April 01, 2005 9:36:06 PM

Administration

Joined: 9/30/2004
Posts: 9,187
boiler,

You have to install TeleChart 2005 on the same computer that you had version 5.3 on. Then you cna import the settings from 5.3 into TeleChart 2005. You can then export the settings to the Worden servers. You can then import the settings into TeleChart 2005 on your new computer.
ning_jiang
Posted : Thursday, July 14, 2005 3:57:33 AM
Registered User
Joined: 2/10/2005
Posts: 4
Is there any way to import an ASCII file to TeleChart 2005?
Bruce_L
Posted : Thursday, July 14, 2005 7:56:17 AM


Worden Trainer

Joined: 10/7/2004
Posts: 65,138
If you have a list of tickers saved as a text file then follow this procedure:

Select New | New Watchlist | Import from a file.
Name the Watchlist and select OK.
Navigate to the file and select Import.

-Bruce
Personal Criteria Formulas
TC2000 Support Articles
ning_jiang
Posted : Friday, September 02, 2005 1:56:35 AM
Registered User
Joined: 2/10/2005
Posts: 4
I do not know why I cannot log in today and received this message:

signed-in failed: invalid username / password

It was working yesterday and I did not change username / password. Would you please check what is the problem?

Thanks.

---Ning Jiang

(Removed by Moderator)
Doug_H
Posted : Friday, September 02, 2005 8:03:11 AM


Worden Trainer

Joined: 10/1/2004
Posts: 4,308
This is a technical problem that we are unable to troubleshoot here in the forums. Please contact our technical support department for their assistance with your log-in problem. They can be reached as follows:

support@worden.com
(919)408-0542
M-F 9AM-9PM EDT
Sat 9AM-3PM EDT

This was not the best place to post a message of this sort. Please watch this video when you get a chance. It will help you make better use of these forums in the future:

Learn how to use the forums: post a new topic, reply, Search existing topics

- Doug
Teaching Online!
ning_jiang
Posted : Saturday, July 08, 2006 4:52:40 AM
Registered User
Joined: 2/10/2005
Posts: 4
How to define a watchlist with pre-defined Bollinger band width? Or, how to sort a list of stocks according to bollinger band width? (using EasyScan or PCF)

Thanks.

---Ning Jiang
Craig_S
Posted : Saturday, July 08, 2006 5:32:09 AM


Worden Trainer

Joined: 10/1/2004
Posts: 18,819
Check out this post:

Modelling Bollinger Bands (& Standard Deviation) in a TC PCF

...and this video:

Finding Expanding or Contracting Bollinger Bands

I found these by searching the forums. You too can search these forums for anything. Watch this short video on how to get the most from these forums: Learn how to use the forums: post a new topic, reply, Search existing topics

The video will also help you post questions like this in the correct forum (Ask A Trainer) as a new topic.

You may also find this video interesting: Sort using envelopes, regression channels and Bollinger bands

- Craig
Here to Help!
ning_jiang
Posted : Tuesday, July 11, 2006 1:54:48 AM
Registered User
Joined: 2/10/2005
Posts: 4
Craig:

Thank you very much for your information that is very helpful for me to set up both bollinger bandwidth and %b custom indicators. I hope these two settings can be part of standard indicator for the future release of TeleChart.

Thanks.

---Ning Jiang

#Bollinger BandWidth Formula 20 days 2 StdDev
#(UpperBB- LowerBB)/Middle BB
((AvgC20 + 2 * SQR((( C*C +C1*C1+C2*C2 +C3*C3 +C4*C4 +C5*C5 +C6*C6
+C7*C7 +C8*C8 +C9*C9 +C10*C10+C11*C11 +C12*C12 +C13*C13 +C14*C14
+C15*C15 +C16*C16 +C17*C17 +C18*C18+C19*C19 ) -((20*AvgC20*AvgC20 ) ) / 19 )) - (AvgC20 - 2 * SQR((( C*C +C1*C1
+C2*C2 +C3*C3 +C4*C4 +C5*C5+C6*C6+C7*C7+C8*C8+C9*C9+C10*C10+C11*C11 +C12*C12 +C13*C13+C14*C14+C15*C15 +C16*C16 +C17*C17 +C18*C18
+C19*C19 ) - ( 20 * AvgC20*AvgC20 ) ) / 19 ))) / AVGC20*100

#Bollinger Band %b Formula 20 days 2 StdDev
#(Last-lowerBB)/(upperBB - lowerBB)
(c1-(AvgC20 - 2 * SQR((( C*C +C1*C1 +C2*C2 +C3*C3 +C4*C4 +C5*C5+C6*C6+C7*C7 +C8*C8 +C9*C9 +C10*C10 +C11*C11 +C12*C12+C13*C13 +C14*C14+C15*C15 +C16*C16 +C17*C17 +C18*C18 +C19*C19) - ( 20 * AvgC20*AvgC20 ) ) / 19 ))) / ((AvgC20 + 2 * SQR((( C*C +C1*C1 +C2*C2 +C3*C3 +C4*C4 +C5*C5 +C6*C6+C7*C7 +C8*C8 +C9*C9 +C10*C10 +C11*C11 +C12*C12 +C13*C13 +C14*C14+C15*C15 +C16*C16 +C17*C17 +C18*C18 +C19*C19 ) - ( 20 * AvgC20*AvgC20 ) ) / 19 )) - (AvgC20 - 2 * SQR((( C*C +C1*C1 +C2*C2 +C3*C3 +C4*C4 +C5*C5 +C6*C6+C7*C7 +C8*C8 +C9*C9 +C10*C10 +C11*C11 +C12*C12 +C13*C13 +C14*C14+C15*C15 +C16*C16 +C17*C17 +C18*C18 +C19*C19 ) - ( 20 * AvgC20*AvgC20 ) ) / 19 )))
Craig_S
Posted : Tuesday, July 11, 2006 6:02:50 AM


Worden Trainer

Joined: 10/1/2004
Posts: 18,819
You're welcome.

- Craig
Here to Help!
richard601
Posted : Sunday, August 20, 2006 5:02:37 AM
Registered User
Joined: 12/1/2004
Posts: 3
Had to reformat the C: to clean it up, had previously kept backups as .tcb files. Reinstalled telechartinst.exe,got TC2007, tried to import from my backup file , nothing happened. I have access to download data and all working normally except I cannot get my chart templates , easyscans etc, several years work. I used the 'import', and pointed it at the tcb file which I had put in the same directory, no joy. Help!!!!
Bruce_L
Posted : Sunday, August 20, 2006 9:20:35 AM


Worden Trainer

Joined: 10/7/2004
Posts: 65,138
richard601,
It is probably best to not do anything on your own that might damage any of your remaining settings (although following the directions in this video should be fine since .tcb files are from a version of TeleChart prior to TeleChart 2005). Please contact technical support.

All e-mail communication sent to support@worden.com during business hours (Monday through Friday 9AM-11PM and Saturday and Sunday 9AM-3PM ET) should be answered within 20 minutes of arrival. For an even quicker response to tech support questions, we recommend calling our voice line at (919) 408-0542 (there is no phone support on Sundays or after 9PM ET on weekdays).

-Bruce
Personal Criteria Formulas
TC2000 Support Articles
Users browsing this topic
Guest-1

Forum Jump
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.