Download software Tutorial videos
Subscription & data-feed pricing Class schedule

New account application Trading resources
Margin rates Stock & option commissions

Attention: Discussion forums are read-only for extended maintenance until further notice.
Welcome Guest, please sign in to participate in a discussion. Search | Active Topics |

Cup & Handle with Confirmation? Topic Rating:
Previous Topic · Next Topic Watch this topic · Print this topic ·
cbradberry
Posted : Wednesday, September 19, 2007 10:32:10 PM
Hi all,

Again, I am still a TA novice but I am wondering if you all agree that this is a confirmed C&H, with the close today? Based on my understanding of the pattern, after today would be the time to buy since it closed above the top of the cup. What do you think?

Chris
allenbary
Posted : Thursday, September 20, 2007 12:48:16 AM
In my opinion for a proper cup and handle formation the weekly chart is better. For me to trade a C & H from a daily chart it needs to take a minimum of six months to form. This is due to the theory on why the C & H forms. If you need me to explain my view of the theory I will. AB
hohandy
Posted : Thursday, September 20, 2007 1:24:56 AM
CBB = it does resemble the general overall shape of the "Cup-and-handle", however, generally a cup-and-handle tends to form over a longer period of time. Check out the Investor's Business Daily website, in the Learning Center, under Lessons on Buying-Reading Stock Charts II section, where they give a good write-up of the cup-and-handle, along with several characteristics to look for (granted, there are no absolute "set rules" and this may, in fact be succesful)

But among the characteristics that IBD lists includes:

"The downward phase, or left side, of the cup should form over a period of at least two weeks. Typically, the left side corrects 5 to 7 weeks or more." also,