Download software Tutorial videos
Subscription & data-feed pricing Class schedule

New account application Trading resources
Margin rates Stock & option commissions

Attention: Discussion forums are read-only for extended maintenance until further notice.
Welcome Guest, please sign in to participate in a discussion. Search | Active Topics |

Few Questions on ALVR Chart Rate this Topic:
Previous Topic · Next Topic Watch this topic · Print this topic ·
cbradberry
Posted : Monday, September 3, 2007 12:20:07 AM
Hi all,

I am very new to Telechart and have a few questions. I am actually a financial advisor by trade and have always traded stocks based on fundamentals only. I have decided to learn Technical Analysis. I am working my way through all the material on this site, a course on TA and a couple of books on TA.

I have some questions about the current chart on ALVR.

I have attempted to draw the support and resistance lines. Do they look right to you all? I know this is very basic, but I want to make sure i drew them correctly. Also, is the best way to draw support and resistance in TC, to draw two horizontal trendlines?

Based on the TA course I am watching, in this current pattern, the resistance line normally becomes the new support line. So based on that, would you all agree that anything between 1.09 and 1.12 or so would be a good entry point? Also, I would be inclined to set a tight stop loss.

What are your thoughts?

Thanks in advance.
diceman
Posted : Monday, September 3, 2007 2:50:37 AM
This is a chart of PFSW.

Your assumptions are correct provided that is the
pattern you are intending to trade.

The pattern you have drawn is what is known as
a rectangle.

(notice as a conformation of the breakout
the increase in volume)
---------------------------------------------------------------

Other interpretations of the chart:

Some might look to buy on a break of a downward
trend line from the early 2007 top and the May 2007
high.