Registered User Joined: 6/2/2005 Posts: 11
|
I want to compare Price to a Moving average intraday, but have found the Moving Average only recognizes its Value 6 bars back. I was trying to look at its Value thirteen bars back. The problem is in a Realcode formula If MA,Value(13) > Price.Close,value(13) and MA.Value < Price.Close then pass. It will only return positives up to MA,Value(6). Any ideas why I can not go back 13 Bars?
|
Worden Trainer
Joined: 10/7/2004 Posts: 65,138
|
The syntax does not look valid. There should be a period where the first comma is currently and it should be Price.Close(13) and not Price.Close,value(13).
If MA.Value(13) > Price.Close(13) AndAlso MA.Value < Price.Close Then Pass
-Bruce Personal Criteria Formulas TC2000 Support Articles
|
Registered User Joined: 6/2/2005 Posts: 11
|
Bruce,
Sorry for the typos. Of course I would get an error message if had those commas where periods should be, so there are no commas in the code. Saying that if can not get a positive return If the MA.Value look back period is greater than (6)
MA.Value(6) > Price.Close(13) And MA.Value < Price.Close Then Pass
That works
MA.Value(7) > Price.Close(13) And MA.Value < Price.Close Then Pass
Does not return any positives.
Footnote: '# MA = chart.MovingAverage
|
Worden Trainer
Joined: 10/7/2004 Posts: 65,138
|
You haven't indicated the period of the moving average used, but if I use a 30-Period Simple Moving Average with a Daily Time Frame, the following RealCode Condition returns true for 5 symbols in the Standard and Poors 100 Component Stocks Watchilst.
DOW, UTX, UNH, MRK & UNP
If MA.Value(7) > Price.Close(13) AndAlso MA.Value < Price.Close Then Pass
But if I actually adjust the bars ago parameters to match at 7 instead of using 7 and 13, I get 13 symbols.
AMGN, MET, BRKB, DOW, COF, BAX, JPM, UNH, C, MON, IBM, BAC & MRK
If MA.Value(7) > Price.Close(7) AndAlso MA.Value < Price.Close Then Pass
I have absolutely no idea why you would not get any symbols returning true.
-Bruce Personal Criteria Formulas TC2000 Support Articles
|
Gold Customer
Joined: 4/19/2012 Posts: 7
|
I HAVE BEEN SCANNING USING MOV AVG CROSS OVERS.
WHEN I GET THE SCANS, THEY ARE ABOUT 8 TO 10 BARS PAST TH CROSS OVER.
IS THERE A PCF THAT WILL SHOW THE CROSS OVER IN ONE OR TWO BARS?
THANKS
|
Worden Trainer
Joined: 10/7/2004 Posts: 65,138
|
If you are using the built in crossing conditions, it should only return true on the exact bar of the cross. Please contact technical support.
-Bruce Personal Criteria Formulas TC2000 Support Articles
|