Welcome Guest, please sign in to participate in a discussion. Search | Active Topics |

When will SF5 exit Beta? Rate this Topic:
Previous Topic · Next Topic Watch this topic · Print this topic ·
Kermitp
Posted : Monday, April 19, 2010 12:04:30 PM
Any idea when we can SF5 to exit beta and become the SF? 

As long as it is in beta I am relucatant to rely on it for real trading. This is just me but I suspect others feel the same way. 

Kermitp 
MauiTrader
Posted : Tuesday, April 20, 2010 1:41:09 AM

I'm in the same camp waiting for SF, version 5.o.
I have said it before that a 6 month beta is too long.  Code should be far more stable than to need a six month beta.

Mauitrader

haschade
Posted : Wednesday, April 21, 2010 6:23:50 AM
As a former software developer, I'll chime in with an opposing point of view.

There is no formula for a length of a beta cycle.  I'm sure Worden wants to get the product out as fast as possible but the desire has to be tempered with (I'd hope!) rigorous quality objectives (stablility, non-regressions, defect close rates, etc) as well as completeness of the "whole product" -- not just code and features but documentation, training, support-readiness, marketing, etc.

I've been using the Beta for "real trading" since nearly day 1 (though not exclusively).  Other than it crapping out unexpectedly and requiring a restart from time to time, I haven't had any errant trades that I can blame on the beta.  I'm very excited about the features but I'm concerned about the stability, even in Build 11. 

So, IMHO, it's not ready.

My .02....
Kuf
Posted : Wednesday, April 21, 2010 9:21:07 AM

Administration

haschade, if you're having stability problems will you please make a post in the bug forum describing what was on your screen and what you were doing when it locked up?

Ken Gilb (Kuf)
Chief Software Engineer - Worden Brothers Inc.
Try/Catch - My RealCode Blog
Kuf
Posted : Wednesday, April 21, 2010 9:23:19 AM

Administration