Download software Tutorial videos
Subscription & data-feed pricing Class schedule

New account application Trading resources
Margin rates Stock & option commissions

Attention: Discussion forums are read-only for extended maintenance until further notice.
Welcome Guest, please sign in to participate in a discussion. Search | Active Topics |

Profile: gjbkdunn
About
User Name: gjbkdunn
Groups: Gold User, Member, Platinum User, TeleChart
Interests:
Statistics
Number of Posts: 13
[0.00% of all post / 0.00 posts per day]
Last 10 Posts
Topic: System Quality Number for Indexes and ETFs
Posted: Wednesday, February 2, 2011 7:55:53 PM

In Van Tharp's review of the overall market he uses his "System Quality Number" SQN to measure market performance for various issues. 
I'd like to create the SQN plot for stocks but I am not a programmer.
The SQN basically consists of the following formula:
N= the lookback period

SquareRoot N * [Average (daily % change over N periods) / (Std Dev  daily % change over N periods)   ]

The daily % change would be the close to the previous close.
Can someone create an indicator that I can drop on a price chart and change the lookback period.
Thanks
Greg

Topic: Price Spike
Posted: Friday, October 15, 2010 9:55:54 AM
Bruce,
I've been thinking about this 3 day price spike business and trying to wrap my mind around the logic of how
to do this.    Then it dawned on me that I can use the code we already have for the 1 day and just change the chart type to a 3 day chart instead of a 1 day.    I checked that out with what I've programmed in Excell.
The numbers don't match up exactly because the excell uses the open three days ago ... but the shape of the curve is very close.
I'm looking for large magnitude moves and once they've reached a certain threshold that is THE signal not if it off by a few decimals.     So I will use the code from the previous discussion in Dec 09 and use both 1 day and three day charts as needed.