Welcome Guest, please sign in to participate in a discussion. Search | Active Topics |

Help with scan for Stockfinder 5 Rate this Topic:
Previous Topic · Next Topic Watch this topic · Print this topic ·
rassom
Posted : Monday, May 31, 2010 9:36:27 AM
Registered User
Joined: 3/18/2009
Posts: 61
Hi,

Would someone please help me in creating this scan for Stockfinder 5?

[Volume > 700,000]
and [daily sma(30,daily volume) > 700,000]
and [Close > 1]
and [Close > today's sma(50,close)]
and [3 days ago sma(50,close) >= yesterday's sma(50,close)]
and [today's ema(10,close) > yesterday's ema(10,close)]
and [today's sma(20,close) > yesterday's sma(20,close)]
and [today's sma(50,close) > yesterday's sma(50,close)]
and [today's ema(10,close) > today's sma(20,close)]
and [today's sma(20,close) > today's sma(50,close)]

Thanks very much in advance! :)

Rasmus
Bruce_L
Posted : Tuesday, June 1, 2010 10:20:50 AM


Worden Trainer

Joined: 10/7/2004
Posts: 65,138
Please try the following RealCode Condition (I tried to keep the formatting as similar to the original as possible to make it obvious how the conversion was done):

'|*****************************************************************|
'|*** StockFinder RealCode Condition - Version 5.0 www.worden.com
'|*** Copy and paste this header and code into StockFinder *********
'|*** Condition:rassom47458
'|******************************************************************
If Volume.Value > 7000 _
 AndAlso Volume.AVG(30) > 7000 _
 AndAlso Price.Close > 1 _
 AndAlso Price.Close > Price.AVGC(50) _
 AndAlso Price.AVGC(50, 3) >= Price.AVGC(50, 1) _
 AndAlso Price.XAVGC(10) > Price.XAVGC(10, 1) _
 AndAlso Price.AVGC(20) > Price.AVGC(20, 1) _
 AndAlso Price.AVGC(50) > Price.AVGC(50, 1) _
 AndAlso Price.XAVGC(10) > Price.AVGC(20) _
 AndAlso Price.AVGC(20) > Price.AVGC(50) Then Pass

-Bruce
Personal Criteria Formulas
TC2000 Support Articles
rassom
Posted : Monday, June 7, 2010 10:50:16 AM
Registered User
Joined: 3/18/2009
Posts: 61
Thanks very much, Bruce. That was extremely helpful! 

Is there a way to plot the resulting number of stocks as a graph on top of i.e. the S&P500 stock prices?

Thanks,
Rasmus
StockGuy
Posted : Monday, June 7, 2010 10:53:55 AM

Administration

Joined: 9/30/2004
Posts: 9,187
Right click on the condition, then select Create Market Indicator.  Choose the list you want to run it against and select Count Passing.
rassom
Posted : Monday, June 7, 2010 11:43:49 AM
Registered User
Joined: 3/18/2009
Posts: 61
Just what I needed. Thanks
rassom
Posted : Wednesday, June 9, 2010 4:26:55 PM
Registered User
Joined: 3/18/2009
Posts: 61
A couple of add-on questions:
1) Count passing for today is 1, so I asked Stockfinder to sort my watchlist (tried "All US Items" and "US Stocks" from the main watchlist) but cannot find the one that passes. Where would I find it or am doing something wrong?

2) Can I through Realcode have the condition scan a certain watchlist only? If yes, how?

Thanks again,
Rasmus
StockGuy
Posted : Wednesday, June 9, 2010 4:30:42 PM

Administration

Joined: 9/30/2004
Posts: 9,187

What list did  you use when you created the market indicator?

rassom
Posted : Wednesday, June 9, 2010 4:33:45 PM
Registered User
Joined: 3/18/2009
Posts: 61
Don't know :)

Is a market indicator tied to the watchlist that is being used when the market indicator is created?
StockGuy
Posted : Wednesday, June 9, 2010 4:35:01 PM

Administration

Joined: 9/30/2004
Posts: 9,187
Sure, it uses the symbols in whatever list you choose to determine the count or percent stocks that are passing the condition.
rassom
Posted : Wednesday, June 9, 2010 4:48:26 PM
Registered User
Joined: 3/18/2009
Posts: 61
Of course, but when I choose another watchlist it should scan that without me having to edit the code for the market indicator, right?
StockGuy
Posted : Wednesday, June 9, 2010 5:11:26 PM

Administration

Joined: 9/30/2004
Posts: 9,187

It will if you chose "Active Watchlist" as the list to use when you created the market indicator as opposed to choosing a specific list.  You can right-click on the indicator then click Edit Market Indicator to see which list you selected.

rassom
Posted : Friday, June 11, 2010 11:44:07 AM
Registered User
Joined: 3/18/2009
Posts: 61
That helped, thanks.

The market is open now and I would like it to scan for yesterday (close) rather than today. Is there a way to do that?
Bruce_L
Posted : Friday, June 11, 2010 11:48:52 AM


Worden Trainer

Joined: 10/7/2004
Posts: 65,138
rassom,
You could add 1 to all of the Bars Ago parameters in the RealCode Condition:

'|*****************************************************************|
'|*** StockFinder RealCode Condition - Version 5.0 www.worden.com
'|*** Copy and paste this header and code into StockFinder *********
'|*** Condition:rassom47458_yesterday
'|******************************************************************
If Volume.Value(1) > 7000 _
 AndAlso Volume.AVG(30, 1) > 7000 _
 AndAlso Price.Close(1) > 1 _
 AndAlso Price.Close(1) > Price.AVGC(50, 1) _
 AndAlso Price.AVGC(50, 4) >= Price.AVGC(50, 2) _
 AndAlso Price.XAVGC(10, 1) > Price.XAVGC(10, 2) _
 AndAlso Price.AVGC(20, 1) > Price.AVGC(20, 2) _
 AndAlso Price.AVGC(50, 1) > Price.AVGC(50, 2) _
 AndAlso Price.XAVGC(10, 1) > Price.AVGC(20, 1) _
 AndAlso Price.AVGC(20, 1) > Price.AVGC(50, 1) Then Pass

-Bruce
Personal Criteria Formulas
TC2000 Support Articles
rassom
Posted : Friday, June 11, 2010 12:32:02 PM
Registered User
Joined: 3/18/2009
Posts: 61
You guys are such a great help.

Many thanks for providing excellent support and service!

Rasmus
Bruce_L
Posted : Friday, June 11, 2010 12:36:05 PM


Worden Trainer

Joined: 10/7/2004
Posts: 65,138
rassom,
You're welcome. Our pleasure.

-Bruce
Personal Criteria Formulas
TC2000 Support Articles
Users browsing this topic
Guest-1

Forum Jump
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.