New version 17 available now


Download software Tutorial videos
Subscription & data-feed pricing Class schedule


New account application Trading resources
Margin rates Stock & option commissions

Welcome Guest, please sign in to participate in a discussion. Search | Active Topics |

How do I setup an easy scan to search in NASDAQ, AMEX, and Russell 2k in one scan? Rate this Topic:
Previous Topic · Next Topic Watch this topic · Print this topic ·
Spooky130u
Posted : Sunday, May 01, 2016 3:35:01 PM
Registered User
Joined: 11/9/2015
Posts: 36

I'm trying to simplify my scans, as well as limiting them to the more "tame" markets (or so I'm told).  I want to scan, in a sinle Easy Scan, stocks listed under AMEX, NASDAQ, and Russell 2k (ok, just looked, it's 1k, not 2k)?  NASDAQ and AMEX are covered in US Stocks, but the Russell 1k is listed separately, and is not in the US stocks list of  exchanges.

Is there a way to avoid havaing to duplicate every Easy Scan to cover all three (and without having to edit it to change the scan's parameters---List To Scan and Exchange---every time)?

Thanks

BillÇochrane
Posted : Sunday, May 01, 2016 4:28:53 PM
Registered User
Joined: 10/18/2012
Posts: 40

FYI Russell 2000 is Small Cap, while Russell 1000 is larger Cap. Together they mak eup the Russell 3000, which I use in place of US Common Stocks watch List, just as you indicate, to avoid penny stocks etc.

There is no way to scan across multiple watch lists. You could copy all the stocks into one Personal watch list, and scan that. Given that you are looking at "major" exchanges, or larger cap stocks, this list should be fairly stable.

The Russell 1000 might be a fairly good approximation of what you want, larger cap stocks across multiple exchanges.

Spooky130u
Posted : Sunday, May 01, 2016 4:44:44 PM
Registered User
Joined: 11/9/2015
Posts: 36

QUOTE (BillÇochrane)

FYI Russell 2000 is Small Cap, while Russell 1000 is larger Cap. Together they mak eup the Russell 3000, which I use in place of US Common Stocks watch List, just as you indicate, to avoid penny stocks etc.

There is no way to scan across multiple watch lists. You could copy all the stocks into one Personal watch list, and scan that. Given that you are looking at "major" exchanges, or larger cap stocks, this list should be fairly stable.

The Russell 1000 might be a fairly good approximation of what you want, larger cap stocks across multiple exchanges.

Actually, given my very tiny trading account, I'm basically limited to stocks under $30 (and above $1, no OTC penny stocks), so the Russell 2k sounds right.  But where is it listed?

It looks like I will be doing multiple copies of each scan, then, because I do want AMEX and NASDAQ (and I have smallcap checked, too--not sure what that one does in that exchange list).

Also, just as a side question, one of my watchlists became the default list to scan...how do I change that?  I'm not sure how it got that way in the first place......

Thanks

busterram
Posted : Sunday, May 01, 2016 9:24:17 PM
Registered User
Joined: 10/9/2011
Posts: 485

One way to do what u are talking about is just do a search with

1. price < 30 & above 5...... c>30 and c < 30

2. Pick the Exchange you want (Amex, Nasdaq and NYSE) 

3. Pick avg  volume filter like vol > 1 mil or more.... avgv30 > 1000000

That example could help you get started to tweak and arrive at something you like.....

Good luck

Spooky130u
Posted : Monday, May 02, 2016 12:27:52 AM
Registered User
Joined: 11/9/2015
Posts: 36

QUOTE (busterram)

One way to do what u are talking about is just do a search with

1. price < 30 & above 5...... c>30 and c < 30

2. Pick the Exchange you want (Amex, Nasdaq and NYSE) 

3. Pick avg  volume filter like vol > 1 mil or more.... avgv30 > 1000000

That example could help you get started to tweak and arrive at something you like.....

Good luck

That's basically what I'm doing now (I'm building on that, but that's the most basic bit).  I was hoping that there was a way to use the three above plus the Russell 2k (which I still can't find in TC2000 v12.5).

Any idea how I change the default list to search from one of my watchlists back to something like US Stocks?

Thanks

 

BillÇochrane
Posted : Monday, May 02, 2016 11:11:34 AM
Registered User
Joined: 10/18/2012
Posts: 40

Russell 2000 should be findable when you set up a new scan, or modify an old one:

In Edit; List To Scan, type 2000 in search box

Spooky130u
Posted : Monday, May 02, 2016 7:27:59 PM
Registered User
Joined: 11/9/2015
Posts: 36

QUOTE (Bill&Ccedil;ochrane)

Russell 2000 should be findable when you set up a new scan, or modify an old one:

In Edit; List To Scan, type 2000 in search box

 

That worked...got a bunch of Russell 2000s.  So, does anyone know how to fix the default list to scan in my easy scans?  It somehow got set to one of my watchlists, and I can't seem to find any documentation or option setting, etc., that fixes that (like I said before, I don't even know how it got that way).

Thanks

Spooky130u
Posted : Monday, May 02, 2016 7:41:19 PM
Registered User
Joined: 11/9/2015
Posts: 36

QUOTE (Bill&Ccedil;ochrane)

Russell 2000 should be findable when you set up a new scan, or modify an old one:

Wow.  I heard, in a webinar from some source (I think it was one of the ones here) that the Russell 2k stocks were among the easier trades, with less volatility to help you not get stopped out.  I just looked at a few of the Russell 2ks, and picked several stocks from each (random) and looked at their charts.  They're all over the place.  Looks more like an o-scope display for a very rapidl changing audio signal with a very large dynamic range.....  Maybe I won't be scanning these, after all.  YIKES!

 

Bruce_L
Posted : Tuesday, May 03, 2016 1:05:36 PM


Worden Trainer

Joined: 10/7/2004
Posts: 61,205

Probably the best way to scan multiple system WatchLists is to copy all of the symbols in those WatchLists to a Personal WatchList and then use the Personal WatchList as the List to Scan in the EasyScan.

How to create a Personal WatchList

Keep in mind that the symbols in the Personal WatchList will not get automatically updated when the various System WatchLists used to create it get updated. This means you will want to occassionally re-copy symbols into the Personal WatchList to keep it current.



-Bruce
Personal Criteria Formulas
TC2000 Support Articles
Spooky130u
Posted : Wednesday, May 04, 2016 11:10:12 AM
Registered User
Joined: 11/9/2015
Posts: 36

QUOTE (Bruce_L)

Probably the best way to scan multiple system WatchLists is to copy all of the symbols in those WatchLists to a Personal WatchList and then use the Personal WatchList as the List to Scan in the EasyScan.

After seeing the volatility (extreme volatility) in the Russell 2k, which I'd understood to be one of the easier (less volatile) exchanges for new swing/position traders, I don't really see the need to do this.

However, I still have a question:  How did one of my watchlists get setup as the default list to scan, and how do I change it back to US Stocks ?

Thanks

Bruce_L
Posted : Wednesday, May 04, 2016 11:51:32 AM


Worden Trainer

Joined: 10/7/2004
Posts: 61,205

The following video explores how to set the default WatchList which is used when an EasyScan is first created. The only way it should have changed is if similar steps were taken within the program at some point in the past.

Setting the Default Watchlist for Scanning & Sorting (1:54)

Note however that there is a 3200 symbol limit on the default WatchList to use for EasyScans. This means you won't be able to set US Stocks as the default. You would need to go into the Edit tab of the EasyScan and change the List to Scan to use US Stocks after the EasyScan is created.



-Bruce
Personal Criteria Formulas
TC2000 Support Articles
Spooky130u
Posted : Wednesday, May 04, 2016 1:57:18 PM
Registered User
Joined: 11/9/2015
Posts: 36

QUOTE (Bruce_L)

The following video explores how to set the default WatchList which is used when an EasyScan is first created. The only way it should have changed is if similar steps were taken within the program at some point in the past.

Setting the Default Watchlist for Scanning & Sorting (1:54)

And the tumor that was in my occipital lobe (cancer #1) strikes again.  I looked for a video like that.  I looked through both  sets of videos (webinar and TC2000 training).  It appears that my brain (occipital lobe) didn't bother to show me that.  Not the first time.......  Thanks for the patience in pointing that out.  I probably looked right at it, but my brain just didn't let me see it.  It's one of those things I've learned to live with since my first cancer, but it can still be extremely annoying.....

 

Bruce_L
Posted : Wednesday, May 04, 2016 2:18:12 PM


Worden Trainer

Joined: 10/7/2004
Posts: 61,205

I'm not sure the video mentions the 3200 symbol limit, so it is probably a good thing you ended up needing to ask for a link in this particular case.



-Bruce
Personal Criteria Formulas
TC2000 Support Articles
855MRZILLA
Posted : Tuesday, January 03, 2017 2:15:13 PM

Gold Customer Gold Customer

Joined: 11/16/2015
Posts: 105

I'm going to make a new Easy scan  so the first thing I do is go to US stocks and after that I go to that add condition

  The first condition is EXCHANGE  and I select in the Box  SMALLCAP  once I select that and then hit SCAN  nothing shows up  what am I doing wrong sure like some help

StockGuy
Posted : Tuesday, January 03, 2017 2:26:34 PM

Administration

Joined: 9/30/2004
Posts: 8,876

US Stocks only includes common stocks listed on NYSE, Amex and Nasdaq. If you want to scan for pinks and bulletin board stocks you'll have to select those as the List to Scan.

855MRZILLA
Posted : Saturday, February 25, 2017 2:52:37 PM

Gold Customer Gold Customer

Joined: 11/16/2015
Posts: 105

You talking about version 17 cuz you're not watch that video it doesn't make sense to me cuz it's not working on my flag list I'm going to try and fix it on my own but I'm not been the same issue it wants to put my flag list up

855MRZILLA
Posted : Tuesday, June 20, 2017 5:03:07 PM

Gold Customer Gold Customer

Joined: 11/16/2015
Posts: 105

It's not working when I do it that way. I have tc 2000 v 17. 

855MRZILLA
Posted : Wednesday, June 21, 2017 4:04:37 PM

Gold Customer Gold Customer

Joined: 11/16/2015
Posts: 105

QUOTE (StockGuy)

US Stocks only includes common stocks listed on NYSE, Amex and Nasdaq. If you want to scan for pinks and bulletin board stocks you'll have to select those as the List to Scan.

When I go to create a custom scam. I click on the thing box. I go down to where it says choose basic. Thank God it index. I wanna Cortana I click on small cap. Select are now at scan and I get nothing in the box. That's what I'm trying to do here on this bullet. This question. 

Bruce_L
Posted : Wednesday, June 21, 2017 4:43:14 PM


Worden Trainer

Joined: 10/7/2004
Posts: 61,205

I am not quite sure what you are doing, not doing or trying to do. That said, this is what I would normally do.

- Select EasyScans at the top of TC2000.

- Select Create New EasyScan.

- Set the List to Scan (I usually use US Common Stocks, but if you are using All Flagged Symbols make sure you have symbols flagged).

- Select Add Condition and start adding conditions.

You have mentioned setting one of the EasyScan Conditions to Exchange and only checking Small Cap. To be honest, I do not know what symbols would be traded on this exchange. It is going to eliminate most (if not all) symbols which might be of interest to most investors. I get symbols returned in my All Flagged Symbols List to Scan with any other exchange selected, but not the Small Cap exchange (and I currently have 61504 symbols flagged).

Note that the Exchange condition does not make it so every symbol in that exchange is available. It is a condition which eliminates any symbols in the List to Scan which are not in one of the checked exchanges. Your List to Scan must have all of the symbols in it you wish to scan.

Attachments:
EasyScans.gif - 8 KB, downloaded 185 time(s).
CreateNewEasyScans.gif - 14 KB, downloaded 189 time(s).
ListToScan.gif - 19 KB, downloaded 188 time(s).
AddConditions.gif - 3 KB, downloaded 182 time(s).



-Bruce
Personal Criteria Formulas
TC2000 Support Articles
855MRZILLA
Posted : Thursday, June 22, 2017 5:01:17 AM

Gold Customer Gold Customer

Joined: 11/16/2015
Posts: 105

Thank you Bruce. Hope you have a good 4th of July.

Bruce_L
Posted : Thursday, June 22, 2017 8:53:37 AM


Worden Trainer

Joined: 10/7/2004
Posts: 61,205

You're welcome.



-Bruce
Personal Criteria Formulas
TC2000 Support Articles
Users browsing this topic
Guest-1

Forum Jump
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.