Welcome Guest, please sign in to participate in a discussion. Search | Active Topics |

Linear Regression Channel Rate this Topic:
Previous Topic · Next Topic Watch this topic · Print this topic ·
FC
Posted : Monday, November 07, 2011 3:38:51 PM
Registered User
Joined: 9/16/2011
Posts: 4
Hello there: I am new to your program. I signed up for one reason, and that is the ability to have Linear Regression Channels in any time period. (an indicator not a drawing tool). Now the chap at the 'show' was able to do this, however in talking to Tech support, it seems you have a Regression Line as an indicator and/or Regression channels drawing tool, however drawing tools are subjective and I do not wish to use subjective L/R lines.I have this in Options Express, and am told your wizard programmers can help me re create this as an indicator:The Linear Regression Channel: 100% displays lines that are two standard deviations above and below the Linear Regression Line.The Linear Regression Channel: 50% displays lines that are one standard deviation above and below the Linear Regression Line.I usually have both these on at the same time. In OX I can see them in any time frame, and they adjust to the time frame. As time is precious when scanning, this would be extremely useful.Can you help here? If you'd like, I will forward the chart from OptionsXpress if that helps you see what I mean.Much appreciated is a speedy reply
Bruce_L
Posted : Monday, November 07, 2011 3:57:16 PM


Worden Trainer

Joined: 10/7/2004
Posts: 51,931
TC2000 version 7 has Linear Regression Channels as an indicator, but the width is not based on Standard Deviation.

Linear regression channel calculations

TC2000 version 12 does not have Linear Regression Channels as an indicator and it is not possible to add them as a customer.

It is possible to add Linear Regression Channels using Standard Deviation to calculate width to StockFinder. The Linear Regression Scan and Regression Channel edit topics have RealCode Indicators for TC2000 version 7 style Linear Regression Channels and Moving Linear Regressions (with options to use Standard Deviation or TeleChart's LR calculations for Width).

-Bruce
FC
Posted : Monday, November 07, 2011 9:34:19 PM
Registered User
Joined: 9/16/2011
Posts: 4
Thank you Bruce. Perhaps I am a little tired. I cannot use Linear Regression channels in TC2000, but I can in Stock Finder? I am new to Wordens products: Is Stock Finder an add on to TC2000 or a completely different charting program? Do I need both? Or is a one or the other? Happy to have both, just now confused as to how to get to Linear Regression channels as I described and even better to be able to scan on them.Your thoughts/ Help?BEstFrank
BDRPPLIR
Posted : Tuesday, November 08, 2011 5:49:08 AM
Platinum Customer Platinum Customer

Joined: 4/15/2007
Posts: 71
I too use Linear Regression Channels to select strikes prices for options spreads. I am using the LRC 50 and 100 indicator on Think or swim but although a great tool on TOS it is too slow and cant do the scans and sorts that I like in SF5.

You mention that LRC in indicator form is availble for SF5 but in the add indicator list on SF5 I only see LR Trendline not channel. Where can I download or add LRC to my SF5?
Bruce_L
Posted : Tuesday, November 08, 2011 8:01:27 AM


Worden Trainer

Joined: 10/7/2004
Posts: 51,931
BDRPPLIR,
The indicators are not built into StockFinder. They are attached to the posts referenced in my Monday, November 07, 2011 3:57:16 PM ET response.

FC,
Linear Regression Channels are available in TC2000 version 7 and can be added to StockFinder by opening the attachments in the referenced topics.

StockFinder is a completely different program than either TC2000 version 7 or TC2000 version 12. While TC2000 version 7 and TC2000 version 12 are both accessible using the same data subscription, accessing StockFinder requires its own data subscription. You may want to check out the StockFinder website.

TC2000 version 7 and StockFinder run on your computer. TC2000 version 12 is usually faster as it runs on our servers.

StockFinder is probably more versatile than TC2000 (but not necessarily better) because it uses RealCode instead of the Personal Criteria Formula Language. RealCode is a programming language while the PCF Language is a formula language which does not have variables or looping structures and requires all of its code to be contained within a single logical line.

If you want to use a variety of our products together or get an idea of how they differ and complement each other, I would start by checking out the following videos. The first video was created with SF4 instead of SF5, but the basic ideas still apply.

Introduction to StockFinder for TeleChart Users
Using TC2000.com in addition to TeleChart 2007

-Bruce
FC
Posted : Tuesday, November 08, 2011 3:34:33 PM
Registered User
Joined: 9/16/2011
Posts: 4
Ok this does get a bit merky: I am a Platinum member on a MAC. While I have Stock Finder feed for data, am not running the program. So, if I understand you correctly: a) TC 12 version only has a drawing tool Linear Regression, and no plan to add it to indicators.b) Stock Finder has it in a programmable way, however on MAC not workable. There are also some other quirks with MAC in bug fix mode.So, bottom line: I can use Linear Regression in T12 is either the single line - Indicator I can use the Regression Drawing tool and either lock it to charts and/or adjust it manuallyIs this correct?The last question then is can I scan Linear Regression off my watch list? If not do you have a comparable idea/suggestion for me to scan watch lists for 1 and 2 % deviations?Thanks for your help
Bruce_L
Posted : Tuesday, November 08, 2011 4:09:36 PM


Worden Trainer

Joined: 10/7/2004
Posts: 51,931
Your summary of the situation is pretty much correct with the exception that we might add Linear Regression Channels as an indicator to TC2000 version 12 at some point. It has been suggested previously and would be required to completely import Linear Regressions from TC2000 version 7 into TC2000 version 12.

We could create Condition Formula to check if Price is at least 1 or 2 Standard Deviations away from the Linear Regression Trendline using the techniques given in Using Linear Regression vs Classical Peaks/Valleys for Divergence Analysis and Modelling Bollinger Bands (& Standard Deviation) in a TC PCF. We could also create an Indicator Formula which would just report the number of Standard Deviations that Price is above or below the Linear Regression Trendline to use as a sort. Both options would require knowing the settings of your Linear Regression.

-Bruce
Big_Sky_Walker
Posted : Tuesday, November 08, 2011 6:58:50 PM
Gold Customer Gold Customer

Joined: 6/12/2005
Posts: 196
By the way, is there anything valuable in Blocks that we need to retain or can I delete all "Blocks" references on my hard drive?
Bruce_L
Posted : Wednesday, November 09, 2011 7:21:50 AM


Worden Trainer

Joined: 10/7/2004
Posts: 51,931
If you have upgraded to StockFinder or are no longer using the SnapSheets/Blocks/StockFinder line of products, I cannot think of a reason to keep anything from Blocks.

-Bruce
BDRPPLIR
Posted : Thursday, November 10, 2011 5:58:56 AM
Platinum Customer Platinum Customer

Joined: 4/15/2007
Posts: 71
Bruce I set up my LRC channels on SF5 with a setting of width 2 and width 4 on each of charts. However each day the system deletes the 4 width plot from my charts even though in the legend it still shows it as being loaded. I have sent my layout via support@worden.com. How can I retain both plots?
Bruce_L
Posted : Thursday, November 10, 2011 7:42:25 AM


Worden Trainer

Joined: 10/7/2004
Posts: 51,931
In looking over the chart last night with technical support, it seems like all of the Upper and Lower Channels are linked to the first LR Indicator instead of being linked to their own LR Indicators. I suspect this resulted from copying and pasting the individual indicators. If I'm correct, you should be able to correct this by loading the indicator twice and moving it to the Price History Pane twice instead of using copy and paste.

-Bruce
BDRPPLIR
Posted : Thursday, November 10, 2011 8:27:36 AM
Platinum Customer Platinum Customer

Joined: 4/15/2007
Posts: 71
Hi Bruce. I actually did set them as you described. I loaded the indicator twice and then adjusted the settings of the second indicator from width 2 to width 4. However when the program is shut down it now holds both LRC's on 3 charts but on the monthly it constantly reverts to the 1 format. I have just sent my revised layout to support@worden.com
Bruce_L
Posted : Thursday, November 10, 2011 8:44:56 AM


Worden Trainer

Joined: 10/7/2004
Posts: 51,931
You can correct the indicators directly by editing the Block Diagrams of the Upper and Lower indicators.

- Right-click on the indicator and select Edit.
- Click on Block Diagram (in the lower left corner).
- Left-click and drag on the input to the Bar High or Bar Low Block.
- Select Link From Another Tool and choose the desired base LR indicator.

Block Diagrams have been de-emphasized in StockFinder but the Your First 3 Block Diagrams video covers creating Block Diagrams. Most people don't do much with Block Diagrams and use Drag and Drop or RealCode exclusively.

Make sure you Save your Layout once you have it set up as desired.

-Bruce
Users browsing this topic
Guest-1

Forum Jump
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.