Download software Tutorial videos
Subscription & data-feed pricing Class schedule

New account application Trading resources
Margin rates Stock & option commissions

Attention: Discussion forums are read-only for extended maintenance until further notice.
Welcome Guest, please sign in to participate in a discussion. Search | Active Topics |

I think I was hosed. Rate this Topic:
Previous Topic · Next Topic Watch this topic · Print this topic ·
jlsmith
Posted : Wednesday, April 1, 2009 9:22:10 PM
Gold Customer Gold Customer

I've been trading for almost 25 years and I've never had this happen to me before. I entered today's trading with a resting sell stop on a particular nasdaq stock at $9.81.  The lowest print was $9.86, yet I received a notice that my stop had been elected and filled at $9.86. Naturally the stock rallied smartly from there. I called the brokerage to find out what was going on, and was told that even though the stock did not trade that low, there was a brief instant where the highest bid was $9.79 and that was enough to trigger the stop. Does anyone know if this is correct? It sounds pretty bogus to me.

Beansintheteens
jlsmith
Posted : Wednesday, April 1, 2009 9:23:06 PM

BigBlock
Posted : Wednesday, April 1, 2009 9:31:13 PM
You have been trading 25 yrs and you have never seen this?  Where have you been trading?
jlsmith
Posted : Wednesday, April 1, 2009 9:37:01 PM

Maybe I've just been lucky up till now, but I,ve never seen any definition anywhere, and neither have you I'll bet, of a stop order that doesn't say that a stop order isn't elected until the market actually trades at or beyond the stop.

Beansintheteens
jas0501
Posted : Wednesday, April 1, 2009 9:41:50 PM

jlsmith,