Download software Tutorial videos
Subscription & data-feed pricing Class schedule

New account application Trading resources
Margin rates Stock & option commissions

Attention: Discussion forums are read-only for extended maintenance until further notice.
Welcome Guest, please sign in to participate in a discussion. Search | Active Topics |

The fakeout - shakeout - breakout: a continuation of the quest Rate this Topic:
Previous Topic · Next Topic Watch this topic · Print this topic ·
davidjohnhall
Posted : Saturday, December 29, 2007 11:52:39 AM

Hi everyone...as I am studying these monster stocks, and after trading ESLR unsuccessfully last week, I am noticing something that pops up time and time again.  I have always been aware of it, and there are quite a few sites that discuss it on the web, but I'm hoping there can be some type of remedy...  I'm talking about the breakout fakeouts and breakdown shakeouts that occur in these big movers.

In my opinion this could wreak havoc on your nerves.  I've read that many times the big players fake out the dumb money into the worst positions so they can shake them out a few days later and make money on the difference and aquire more shares before the real breakout begins.  My question is, where is the real breakout.  They say entry is the least important aspect of your system.  I am not sure that makes sense to me.  Yes, money managemnet is paramount.  Yes, risk control, position sizing, and stop-loss placement matter, but if i don't get in at the right price I will be stopped out at the wrong price and I will be paniced the whole time.

Here's a chart of recent big mover ASTI: